8 New Junior Comics to Read Just in Time for Winter!

Kia ora kids!

Here are some new junior comics that have just arrived at Wellington City Libraries! Head on down to your local library and grab these awesome reads just in time for winter!

Enjoy!


image courtesy of syndeticsInvestiGators.

Time to get your super sleuth on with the InvestiGators, Mango and Brash, sewer-loving agents on their first mission together, who have not one but two mysteries to solve! Can Mango and Brash uncover the clues, crack their cases, and corral the crooks–or will the criminals wriggle out of their grasp? Overall a very humorous read!

image courtesy of syndeticsSnoopy: First Beagle in Space.

“Join Snoopy and the rest of the Peanuts gang as he seeks new milestones in the space race! Even though the first moon landing was 50 years ago, Snoopy has a bold new mission: to be the first beagle in space! Join Snoopy as he sets out on his ambitious quest, while also leading Woodstock and friends as a Beagle Scout and keeping the company of his owner, the round-headed kid Charlie Brown.”–Publisher’s website.

image courtesy of syndeticsCaptain Underpants: George and Harold’s Epic Comix Collection Vol. 2.

Lovable series, Captain Underpants returns with another comic to entertain fans far and wide. “This second collection features even more of George and Harold’s hilarious comix from the first three seasons of the TV show — nearly 200 pages of comics total! Each epic adventure features a brand-new villain from the hit Netflix TV series.”–Provided by publisher.

image courtesy of syndeticsRocket Raccoon and Groot : tall tails.

If you love adventure, animals, outer space and just about anything in between, this is the book for you! Join Rocket Racoon and Groot in weird and wacky adaptation of Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy as you have never seen it before!


image courtesy of syndeticsIllegal.

“Ebo is alone. His brother, Kwame, has disappeared, and Ebo knows it can only be to attempt the hazardous journey to Europe, and a better life, the same journey their sister set out on months ago. But Ebo refuses to be left behind in Ghana. He sets out after Kwame and joins him on the quest to reach Europe. Ebo’s epic journey takes him across the Sahara Desert to the dangerous streets of Tripoli, and finally out to the merciless sea. But with every step he holds on to his hope for a new life, and a reunion with his family”–Provided by publisher.

image courtesy of syndeticsThe Sisters. 1: Just Like Family.

“Meet two wonderful young girls who happen to be sisters-Maureen, and her older sister Wendy. Both are full of personality and a strong sense of independence. So while they may love each other with all their hearts, it’s not always easy for the two of them to be together. After all, when we’re still very young, age differences are much more meaningful. While Maureen may want to hang out with her older sister, nothing could be more embarrassing for Wendy. See how despite all odds, they still manage to get through each day without killing each other… well, at least so far!” — publisher’s web site.

image courtesy of syndeticsThe sisters. 4, Selfie awareness.

Beach vacation with the Sisters! But can their parents stop Wendy from burying Maureen in the sand… permanently?!


image courtesy of syndeticsStig & Tilde. 2, Leader of the pack.

“In their second adventure, Stig and Tilde once again find themselves shipwrecked on a mysterious island. This time, after their shipwreck, Stig & Tilde are welcomed by a pack of feral wolves! With only each other as backup, will they make it out unscathed? Find out in the next exciting adventure!”–Provided by publisher.

New Year; New Books! Are you making the most of your Library these holidays?

These awesome new kids books have just hit the shelves at your local library!

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsHow to Raise your Grown-ups by Lauren Child

The Bobton-Trent seniors certainly know how to make the most of their extravagant wealth – socialising, doing things, buying things and generally being more than a little bit … irresponsible… Luckily for them, their son Hubert Horatio is an exceptionally intelligent, talented and sensible child. Unluckily for Hubert, this tends to mean that a lot of his spare time is spent steering his rather unruly set of grown-ups out of trouble.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsYou don’t know everything Jilly P! by Alex Gino

When her new baby sister is born deaf, Jilly makes an online connection with a fellow fantasy fan, who happens to be black and deaf, and begins to learn about the many obstacles that exist in the world for people who are different from her


Image courtesy of SyndeticsNo fixed address by Susin Nielsen

Twelve-year-old Felix’s appearance on a television game show reveals that he and his mother have been homeless for a while, but also restores some of his faith in other people.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsDown with the Crims by Kate Davies

The Addams Family meets Despicable Me in the first book of this new trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch!


Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe once and future geek Camelot Code; bk 1 by Mari Mancusi

When thirteen-year-old Arthur of Gal, the future King Arthur, accidentally time-travels to the twenty-first century, Sophie Sawyer, twelve, must convince him to return and correct the time line.

Kids’ Club Review by Jessica: Bad dad

Bad dadBad dad, by David Walliams (1971-)

I liked this book because it made it laugh. It cracked me up when they played a trick at the police station when his Aunt pretended to be his Dad. They got tricked into stealing money from the bank and his Dad went to jail. There was a giant car crash and the dad lost his leg! In the end, the dad got out of jail, and the bad guys went to jail instead.

4 stars

Reviewed by Jessica from Miramar and Seatoun School , 6 years old

Kids’ Club Review by McKay: Long reach

Long reachLong reach, by Peter Cocks

It was a very action packed book with lots of surprises and had you hanging on the edge of your seat after each page.

4 stars

Reviewed by McKay from Miramar and Seatoun School , 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Erica: Gangsta granny

Gangsta grannyGangsta granny, by David Walliams (1971-)

This is a great book. It’s a really exciting book about a boy who doesn’t like his cabbage smelling Granny. But Granny isn’t just an ordinary Granny…she’s pretty amazing. In this book she gets to meet the Queen and tells the boy (Ben) she has been lying to him about stealing jewels all this time.
I would highly recommend this book for 8+ boy or girl who likes adventures

5 stars

Reviewed by Erica  from Miramar and Seatoun School , 8 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Sophia: Gangsta granny

Gangsta grannyGangsta granny, by David Walliams (1971-)

Love this book! David Williams is my favourite author! (No offence to the kids out there who love J.K Rowling.) It’s a really cool book and I recommend it ages 2+

5 stars

Reviewed by Sophia from Kilbirnie and Lyall Bay School , 9 years old

Kids’ Club Review by olivia: Gangsta granny

Gangsta grannyGangsta granny, by David Walliams (1971-)

a fun and enjoyable book about a boy and his granny who is a cabbage lover on the outside but is a gangsta on the inside

I loved the part where he sets of to find where his granny goes and helps steal the crown jewels
i had to read this book 4-5 times because i loved it so much
a definite one to chose on a book hunt

4 stars

Reviewed by olivia from Cummings Park and St Benedict’s School , 9 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Alisa: Gangsta granny

Gangsta grannyGangsta granny, by David Walliams (1971-)

It was a very funny book and I loved the book so much that I had to read it at least 3 times. My favourite part was when they tried to steal the queens crown and ends up getting caught. My favourite character is the granny because I think she would be cool to have and go on lots of adventures with.

4 stars

Reviewed by Alisa from Johnsonville and Raroa Normal Intermediate , 11 years old