New Year; New Books! Are you making the most of your Library these holidays?

These awesome new kids books have just hit the shelves at your local library!

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsHow to Raise your Grown-ups by Lauren Child

The Bobton-Trent seniors certainly know how to make the most of their extravagant wealth – socialising, doing things, buying things and generally being more than a little bit … irresponsible… Luckily for them, their son Hubert Horatio is an exceptionally intelligent, talented and sensible child. Unluckily for Hubert, this tends to mean that a lot of his spare time is spent steering his rather unruly set of grown-ups out of trouble.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsYou don’t know everything Jilly P! by Alex Gino

When her new baby sister is born deaf, Jilly makes an online connection with a fellow fantasy fan, who happens to be black and deaf, and begins to learn about the many obstacles that exist in the world for people who are different from her


Image courtesy of SyndeticsNo fixed address by Susin Nielsen

Twelve-year-old Felix’s appearance on a television game show reveals that he and his mother have been homeless for a while, but also restores some of his faith in other people.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsDown with the Crims by Kate Davies

The Addams Family meets Despicable Me in the first book of this new trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch!


Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe once and future geek Camelot Code; bk 1 by Mari Mancusi

When thirteen-year-old Arthur of Gal, the future King Arthur, accidentally time-travels to the twenty-first century, Sophie Sawyer, twelve, must convince him to return and correct the time line.

Kids’ Club Review by Jessica: Bad dad

Bad dadBad dad, by David Walliams (1971-)

I liked this book because it made it laugh. It cracked me up when they played a trick at the police station when his Aunt pretended to be his Dad. They got tricked into stealing money from the bank and his Dad went to jail. There was a giant car crash and the dad lost his leg! In the end, the dad got out of jail, and the bad guys went to jail instead.

4 stars

Reviewed by Jessica from Miramar and Seatoun School , 6 years old

Kids’ Club Review by McKay: Long reach

Long reachLong reach, by Peter Cocks

It was a very action packed book with lots of surprises and had you hanging on the edge of your seat after each page.

4 stars

Reviewed by McKay from Miramar and Seatoun School , 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Erica: Gangsta granny

Gangsta grannyGangsta granny, by David Walliams (1971-)

This is a great book. It’s a really exciting book about a boy who doesn’t like his cabbage smelling Granny. But Granny isn’t just an ordinary Granny…she’s pretty amazing. In this book she gets to meet the Queen and tells the boy (Ben) she has been lying to him about stealing jewels all this time.
I would highly recommend this book for 8+ boy or girl who likes adventures

5 stars

Reviewed by Erica  from Miramar and Seatoun School , 8 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Sophia: Gangsta granny

Gangsta grannyGangsta granny, by David Walliams (1971-)

Love this book! David Williams is my favourite author! (No offence to the kids out there who love J.K Rowling.) It’s a really cool book and I recommend it ages 2+

5 stars

Reviewed by Sophia from Kilbirnie and Lyall Bay School , 9 years old

Kids’ Club Review by olivia: Gangsta granny

Gangsta grannyGangsta granny, by David Walliams (1971-)

a fun and enjoyable book about a boy and his granny who is a cabbage lover on the outside but is a gangsta on the inside

I loved the part where he sets of to find where his granny goes and helps steal the crown jewels
i had to read this book 4-5 times because i loved it so much
a definite one to chose on a book hunt

4 stars

Reviewed by olivia from Cummings Park and St Benedict’s School , 9 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Alisa: Gangsta granny

Gangsta grannyGangsta granny, by David Walliams (1971-)

It was a very funny book and I loved the book so much that I had to read it at least 3 times. My favourite part was when they tried to steal the queens crown and ends up getting caught. My favourite character is the granny because I think she would be cool to have and go on lots of adventures with.

4 stars

Reviewed by Alisa from Johnsonville and Raroa Normal Intermediate , 11 years old

Top 10 Children’s Comics June 2017

So who doesn’t love an anthology! They take a heap of comics, join them up and place them carefully between a cover that creates one bumper book.  The Smurf Anthologies are great because you get to see a story through.  Also it looks like you’re reading a lot!

Did you know the original name for Smurfs was Les Schtroumpfs! Pierre Culliford, more famously known as Peyo came up with the name as a nonsense word.  Les Schtroumpfs were originally encountered in a Peyo comic Johan et Pirlouit” take a look at the these Peyo creations.  Of course you can always take more comics out of the library… Peyo is also the author of Benny Breakiron =)

  1. Big Nate, by Lincoln Peirce
  2. Tintin, by Hergé
  3. Pokémon, by Hidenori Kusaka
  4. Peanuts, by Charles M. Schulz
  5. Adventure time, by Ryan North
  6. Amulet, by Kazu Kibuishi
  7. Garfield, by Jim Davis
  8. Chi’s sweet home, by Kanata Konami
  9. The Smurfs anthology, by Peyo
  10. Asterix, by Goscinny and Udzero