Kids’ Club Review by Delta: Tales of Toyland

Tales of Toyland, by Enid Blyton

My favorite character is Tiptoe. I like Tiptoe because she stands up for others and helps people in need. The best bit in the book was when Jolly made friends with Tiptoe. Tiptoe got her name because she stands on her tiptoes. I think boys and girls would both enjoy this book. Kids who are 7 to 10 years old could read the book. Tales of Toyland is unique!!! I give this four stars out of five!

4 stars

Reviewed by Delta from Tawa, 7 years old

Some great new kids fiction to read these school holidays!

Yay!!! It’s the School Holidays! So stock your reading shelf with these fab new books available at your local Library!

 

Image courtesy of Syndetics

The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage ; The Find-Outers #1, by Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. Someone has set fire to Mr Hick’s cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it’s not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to “clear orf”. The Find-Outers are determined – they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does! First published in 1943, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

 

 

The Stinky Truth by Joe Berger

It’s the school holidays and Sam and his best friend can’t wait to see Cry Wolfe, the first movie starring their favourite crime-fighting hero. But Sam’s mum has set him a challenge. He can only go and see the movie IF, and only if, he can make it through the entire holiday without telling a single fib. Can Sam go six whole weeks, without a single porky!? WARNING: contains fibs, farts and zumba-dancing mums.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsDark Tricks by Linda Chapman

Do you believe in magic? Sita and her friends do! When they meet the Star Animals, a whole world of adventure unfolds. Sita and her star animal, a deer called Willow, must use their special powers to stop the forces of dark magic. As the Star Friends’ ability to use their magic gets stronger, the forces of dark magic working against them become more intense, too. But the person using dark magic is taking risks – can the girls find out who their enemy is, and confront them once and for all?

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe New Kid:  Unpopular me by James O’Loghlin

“New kids aren’t cool. Everyone knows that. Eleven-year-old Sam is the new kid at school but he has a plan, or two, or three to make himself the Most popular kid ever. What you are about to read is unforgettable (frog underpants, lonely losers, human umbrellas, bad boys…). It’s bumpy (jumping out a window is never a good idea). It’s the story of kid who wants to be more.”–Back cover.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsGreta Zargo and the Amoeba Monsters from the middle of the earth by A.F. Harold

Greta doesn’t know it, but weird wobbling monsters are devouring her neighbours one by one. But right now Greta’a busy trying to find her aunt, who’s gone mysteriously missing… — Adapted from back cover.

Kids’ Club Review by Genevye: The naughtiest girl in the school

The naughtiest girl in the school, by Enid Blyton

It was amazing! It’s about a spoilt and selfish girl called Elizabeth Allen and she gets sent to boarding school because her babysitter needs to go to a new family and her mum and dad were going somewhere. Elizabeth whines and tries to make her mum change her mind, but it doesn’t work. When she gets there she already planned that she would be naughty and selfish so she can get sent home. Then a monitor called Rita ,who is very kind, says to Elizabeth to be nice and be friends with a lonely girl called Joan. They become friends, and Elizabeth never even thought about being rude, lots of other things happen, but it’s really amazing. Come on…. you know you want to read it.!

5 stars

Reviewed by Genevye from Johnsonville, 7 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Charlie: The magic faraway tree

The magic faraway treeThe magic faraway tree, by Enid Blyton

I thought it was really funny because he is kind of deaf eg. is someone said to him “have a plum” he will say “oh have you hurt your thumb” in the book what happens is they are sad because they have to move house but ten they find that they love the new house and the wood behind it… I would recommend it for ages 5 plus because it isn”t scary at all it’s really exciting

5 stars

Reviewed by Charlie from Karori, 8 years old

Top 5 New Non Fiction of 2017 – Part Two.

Hey kids! Check out the latest instalment of top 5 junior non fiction of 2017! This post features books filled with tasty treats, help you master skills on how to be a professional football player and some good old folk tales fashioned folklore that teach moral lessons.

Enjoy!

image courtesy of syndeticsEnid Blyton Jolly Good Food.

Jolly good food, indeed! Reading this cookbook makes my mouth water! With this cookbook, inspired by Enid Blyton’s stories, you master the perfect way to share the pleasure of making and eating food with your child. Jam packed full of yummy recipes, beautiful artwork and extracts from Enid Blyton’s writing that will inspire children – and the whole family – to get busy in the kitchen. Ideal for picnics, kids’ parties and barbecues. Librarian’s choice all the way!

image courtesy of syndeticsGoal!

Who is the greatest striker ever to play football? How do you do the Cruyff turn? Where is the perfect place is to put a penalty? How far do players run during a match? Goal! doesn’t just tell you the answers – it shows you. With bright, imaginative info-graphics and eye catching artworks, football facts leap off the page. Did you know that more than 40 million footballs are produced each year?! Packed with vital tips and tricks, as well as astounding, mind-boggling stats, from the origins of football to the FIFA World Cup, it focuses on information that won’t date. Goal! is a vibrant, visual guide to everything you need to know about the world’s most popular game – football!

image courtesy of syndeticsThe Rough Face Girl.

In this Algonquin Indian version of the Cinderella story, the Rough-Face Girl and her two beautiful but heartless sisters compete for the affections of the Invisible Being. A beautifully told story that ensures that the good are rewarded and the wicked are punished. Librarian’s choice all the way!

 

image courtesyNorse Myths.

The stories of dazzling magic and thrilling journeys tell of the creation of the nine worlds and follow Odin with his one eye, Thor with his mighty hammer and Loki the shape-shifting trickster on their adventures until the final great battle of Ragnarok. In this stunning collection of myths, the strange world of ancient magic, gods, giants and dwarfs is unforgettably imagined.

image courtesy of syndeticsCrazy about Cats.
“Did you know that the fishing cat has partially webbed paws for catching fish? Or that pumas can leap over 15 feet into trees? There are roughly 38 species of cats today, each one superbly adapted to their environment – whether that be in the rainforest or the desert!”–Publisher.

Kids’ Club Review by Caitlin: The Secret Seven

The Secret SevenThe Secret Seven, by Enid Blyton

This is a great book about the secret seven. Seven kids get together and decide to start a club-The secret seven. But will it just lead them into danger?
Find out what Peter, Janet, Colin, Jack, George, Pam and Barbara will get up to on their first adventure!

4 stars

Reviewed by Caitlin from Island Bay and St Francis De Sales School , 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Caitlin: Secret Seven adventure

Secret Seven adventureSecret Seven adventure, by Enid Blyton

When the secret seven have their meeting, they find out that a priceless pearl necklace has been stolen! And right under their noses, too! Can the secret seven discover the thief before its too late?

4 stars

Reviewed by Caitlin from Island Bay and St Francis De Sales School , 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Caitlin: Go ahead, Secret Seven

Go ahead, Secret SevenGo ahead, Secret Seven, by Enid Blyton

After solving their last mystery, the Secret Seven think they’re on to something. But George soon gets into trouble, and its up to Scamper, the Secret Sevens dog, to protect the rest of the gang as they go off in search of some missing pedigree dogs.

3 stars

Reviewed by Caitlin from Island Bay and St Francis De Sales School , 11 years old