Looking for a good book to read? LIANZA Children and Teens book award finalists announced.

Each year LIANZA Children’s and Young Adults Book Awards picks the best that has been published in New Zealand or by a New Zealander.

Did you know, as part of the LIANZA book awards, you can earn Hell Pizza for reading? Pick up a pizza wheel from your local library and ask the librarian to tell you how it works.

Recently the award finalists have been announced for each category, and here they are:

Russell Clarke Award (for Illustration)

  1. Marmaduke Duck on the Wide Blue Seas by Juliette MacIver and Sarah Davis – Scholastic
  2. Jim’s Letters by Glyn Harper and Jenny Cooper – Penguin Random House
  3. Have you seen a monster? by Raymond McGrath – Penguin Random House
  4. So Many Wonderfuls by Tina Matthews – Walker Books
  5. Mrs Mo’s Monster by Paul Beavis – Gecko Press


LIANZA Young Adult Fiction Award

  1. I am Rebecca by Fleur Beale – Penguin Random House
  2. The Red Suitcase by Jill Harris – Makaro Press
  3. Singing Home the Whale by Mandy Hager – Penguin Random House
  4. Recon Team Angel: Vengeance by Brian Falkner – Walker Books
  5. Night Vision by Ella West – Allen and Unwin


Elsie Lock Award (for Non-Fiction)

  1. The Book of Hat by Harriet Rowland – Makaro Press
  2. A New Zealand Nature Journal by Sandra Morris – Walker Books
  3. Maori Art for Kids by Julie Noanoa and Norm Heke – Potton and Burton Publishing
  4. Mōtītī Blue and the Oil Spill: A Story from the Rena Disaster by Debbie McCauley – Mauao Publishing
  5. New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame: 25 Kiwi Champions by Maria Gill and Marco Ivancic – New Holland


Esther Glenn Award (for Junior Fiction)

  1. Monkey Boy by Donovan Bixley – Scholastic
  2. The Volume of Possible Endings (A Tale of Fontania) by Barbara Else – Gecko
  3. Conrad Cooper’s Last Stand by Leonie Agnew – Penguin
  4. Trouble in Time by Adele Broadbent – Scholastic
  5. Letterbox Cat by Paula Green – Scholastic


Te Kura Ponamu Award (Te Reo publications)

  1. Nga Kī by Sacha Cotter, Josh Morgan and Kawata Teepa – Huia
  2. Hui E! by various authors – Huia
  3. Tūtewehi by Fred Te Maro – Huia
  4. Kimihia by Te Mihinga Komene and Scott Pearson – Huia
  5. An early Te Reo Reading Book Series by Carolyn Collis – Summer Rose Books


The judges will pick one winner for each category. The winning titles will be announced on 15th June 2015.