New Year; New Books! Are you making the most of your Library these holidays?

These awesome new kids books have just hit the shelves at your local library!

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsHow to Raise your Grown-ups by Lauren Child

The Bobton-Trent seniors certainly know how to make the most of their extravagant wealth – socialising, doing things, buying things and generally being more than a little bit … irresponsible… Luckily for them, their son Hubert Horatio is an exceptionally intelligent, talented and sensible child. Unluckily for Hubert, this tends to mean that a lot of his spare time is spent steering his rather unruly set of grown-ups out of trouble.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsYou don’t know everything Jilly P! by Alex Gino

When her new baby sister is born deaf, Jilly makes an online connection with a fellow fantasy fan, who happens to be black and deaf, and begins to learn about the many obstacles that exist in the world for people who are different from her


Image courtesy of SyndeticsNo fixed address by Susin Nielsen

Twelve-year-old Felix’s appearance on a television game show reveals that he and his mother have been homeless for a while, but also restores some of his faith in other people.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsDown with the Crims by Kate Davies

The Addams Family meets Despicable Me in the first book of this new trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch!


Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe once and future geek Camelot Code; bk 1 by Mari Mancusi

When thirteen-year-old Arthur of Gal, the future King Arthur, accidentally time-travels to the twenty-first century, Sophie Sawyer, twelve, must convince him to return and correct the time line.

Kids’ Club Review by Anna: Gangsta Granny

Gangsta Granny, by David Walliams

Gangsta Granny by David Walliams is about a boy named Ben who has a gangsta for a granny. Ben used to think she was boring until she showed him a box of jewels and explained a plan. They were going to steal the crown jewels! I really enjoyed this book because its funny and easy to read. I would recommend this book to 6 plus.

5 stars

Reviewed by Anna from Karori and Karori Normal School , 8 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Charlotte: Gangsta granny

Gangsta granny, by David walliams

I really enjoyed this super funnny, adventure book with a sad twist at the end. I loved how he snuck out down the drain pipe to get to his granny’s house.

5 stars

Reviewed by Charlotte from Kilbirnie and Seatoun School , 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Molly: Gangsta Granny

Gangsta Granny, by David Walliams

Gangsta Granny by David Walliams is about a boy named Ben who, every Friday, stays at his old granny’s house that smells like rotten cabbage. He hates it there until one day she shows him a container of jewels and tells him that she’s a international jewel thief. Together they must steal the crown jewels……… This is a really hilarious book and I really enjoyed it. I would recommend this book for 6 plus.

5 stars

Reviewed by Molly from Karori and Karori Normal School , 10 years old

Kids’ Club Review by kingsley: Gangsta granny

Gangsta grannyGangsta granny, by David Walliams (1971-)

I think it was a good book it was about a boy who hated his granny but when he found that his granny was jewel theif they went rob the crown jewel

3 stars

Reviewed by kingsley from Miramar and Seatoun School , 6 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Javi: Gangsta granny

Gangsta grannyGangsta granny, by David Walliams (1971-)

I liked Gangsta granny a lot because it has humour and shows that not all grandparents are as boring as you might think. My favourite part was when the granny was doing her naked yoga and Mr Parker just burst in because he didn’t believe Ben (the grandson).
Overall I loved Gangsta Granny

5 stars

Reviewed by Javi from Brooklyn and Owhiro Bay School , 10 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Luke: Gangsta granny

Gangsta grannyGangsta granny, by David Walliams (1971-)

She has stolen millions of jewels, she’s wanted in many countries, and she’s Ben’s granny. Ben and his grandmother set out on one mission; to steal the crown jewels. Is Ben’s grandmother really his grandmother? I rate this book 5 stars because is funny and enjoyable to read. I recommend this book for children 7+.

5 stars

Reviewed by Luke from Karori and Karori Normal School , 12 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Izy: Gangsta granny

Gangsta grannyGangsta granny, by David Walliams (1971-)

This book is interesting. It only starts getting exciting when you find out granny is a gangster. My favourite part is at the end when the granny and the grandson try to steal the queens crown. This book really is interesting.

3 stars

Reviewed by Izy from Brooklyn and Te Aro School , 9 years old