About this artist...

Decade(s) active:


We say:

Cover image

Founded in 2001, ‘Urbantramper’ were Lake McKenna (vocals, acoustic guitar, bass, keyboard), Phil Jones (bass, Bvs, keyboard/computer) & Andy Hoy (drums/samples), a 3 piece ElectricUTOPIA band. ElectricUTOPIA is an aural representation of unrealised dreams. It’s the soundtrack to the future we forgot; idealistic pop for the wireless.

The band underwent various incarnations since their inception. Their two self released albums, ‘To The Future On Foot’ (2004) and, ‘The Treeninja Always Gets Through’ (2005) secured them a loyal underground following throughout New Zealand, with both albums receiving airplay on B-net, commercial and Government owned radio. A compilation of Urbantramper’s albums was the bonus CD on the June 2006 Low Hum tour.

‘Tokon & The Colours’ followed in 2007.

RNZ’s Kirsten Johnstone interviews Lake on the release of ‘Tokon & The Colours’…

‘Ride And Rise Toward’ & ‘The Workers’ Album: All that is solid melts into air’ were released in 2009.

‘Internet Freedom is Love’ was released in in 2012. Examining features of the modern world- high-speed connections, emoticons, and ‘the sharing of sentiment and ideas across vast distance’. Lake talked with Kirsten Johnstone of RNZ about some of the songs…

Urbantramper’s last full album was ‘Tomorrow We Leave Here’ in 2013. The last piece of music from the ‘Urbantramper’ moniker was a 2013 single featuring Brooke Singer from ‘French for Rabbits’. However ‘Urbantramper’ continues on as Lake South…

Some songs from ‘Rise and Ride Toward’ live in the studio…

Some text courtesy of Amplifier. Cover sourced from Bandcamp. Used with permission.

Last edited: 11.02.16

Elsewhere online:

From our shelves:

Albums by this artist

From the Blog:

From DigitalNZ:

Hm, something went wrong there -- please try again in a minute

have your say

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. Subscribe to these comments.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>