About this artist...

Decade(s) active:

We say:


Stefan Brown
Don Wilson

Ebony were a Wellington pop duo consisting of Stefan Brown and Don Wilson. There first single on Philips was “The Fool” in 1973. It was an entry on “Studio One Hits” that year. Switching to Polydor the next single, also 1973, was “Big Norm”/”Tavern Girl”. The song “Big Norm” was written about Labour Prime Minister Norman Kirk, an extremely popular leader and a big man with a big heart. The single peaked at number 4 on the National charts in January 1974.

In 1974 a self-titled album was released and from it came two singles, “Laze In The Morning Sun”/”P-A-R-T-Y” and “Everyone’s Heart Gets Broken”/”Colours Of The World”.


They later evolved into a group by adding Simon Morris on bass, Kerry Jacobsen on drums and Steve Robinson on guitar. 1976 saw their last single on Ode, “Don’t Boogie Mr Tango”/”Slacker”. Kerry was then to soon show up in Dragon.

Grateful acknowledgement is made to Bruce Sergent for letting us use this material from his great discographical site New Zealand Music of the 60’s, 70’s and a bit of 80’s.

Last edited: 14.04.18

From the Blog:

From DigitalNZ:

Hm, something went wrong there -- please try again in a minute

have your say

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>