Winners Announced! Did your favourite win?

At a lavish ceremony on the evening of 15th June, the winners of the LIANZA Children’s Book Awards were announced. The winners are the best books, according to Librarians, that have written and illustrated by New Zealanders in the last year.

(LIANZA – Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa)

Here are the winners:

Russell Clarke Award for Illustration:

Mrs Mo’s Monster by Paul Beavis (See Paul Beavis in the library during the School Holidays!)


Elsie Locke Award for Non-fiction:

Maori Art for Kids by Julie Noanoa and Norm Heke



Esther Glen Award for Junior Fiction:

Conrad Cooper’s Last Stand by Leonie Agnew



Young Adult Fiction Prize:

Night Vision by Ella West



Librarians’ Choice:

I am Rebecca by Fleur Beale



Te Kura Ponamu for best te Reo book:

Kimihia by Te Mihinga Komene and Scott Pearson