New Zealand author on Man Booker Prize 2015 longlist

Syndetics book coverCongratulations to New Zealand author Anna Smaill for her novel titled The Chimes being selected for the 2015 Man Booker longlist.
The recently announced longlist of 13 novels also includes Anne Enright’s The Green Road, Andrew O’Hagan’s The Illuminations, and Anne Tyler’s A Spool of Blue Thread.
The panel of five judges, chaired by Michael Wood, will announce the shortlist in September 2015, with each author receiving £2,500 and the winner from this will be announced in October 2015, and receive the £50,000 award.

2014 Man Booker Prize won by Richard Flanagan

Syndetics book coverAustralian writer Richard Flanagan has been awarded this year’s prestigious literary prize, The Man Booker, for his novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North. This is his sixth novel and is based on his father’s war time experiences as a Japanese prisoner of war working on the notorious Burma Railway.
Richard Flanagan was born in 1961 Tasmania, where he still resides. He was presented with the £50,000 at a ceremony in London, for the 46th year of the prize and notably the most contentious, as this was the first year to allow entry of any novel published in English.

Eleanor Catton wins the Man Booker Prize 2013

Syndetics book cover
Eleanor Catton has become the second New Zealand writer to win the Man Booker Prize 2013, with her second novel, The Luminaries. The judges announced her as the winner in London at the award dinner on Tuesday evening, and praised her novel as extraordinary. It is the longest novel to ever have won and Eleanor Catton is the youngest ever winner. The only other New Zealand writer to win the prize was Keri Hulme in 1985 with her novel The Bone People.

Man Booker Prize 2013 shortlist announced

Syndetics book coverThe shortlist of six novels from the 151 submitted, of the Man Booker Prize 2013 has been announced. Eleanor Catton with her second novel, The Luminaries has been selected. She is the youngest writer ever shortlisted for this prize. She is joined on the list by Jim Crace, with The Harvest, Colm Toibin with The Testament of Mary, Ruth Ozeki with A Tale for the Time Being, Jhumpa Lahiri with The Lowland (on order now!), and NoViolet Bulawayo with We Need New Names.
This shortlist is the most diverse in many years, not only with the selected novels which range from historical New Zealand and England to modern day Zimbabwe and Japan, but also in the writers, from the prolific and experienced Colm Toibin and Jim Crace to the new and relatively unknown Eleanor Catton and NoViolet Bulawayo.
The winner will be announced in London on 15th October 2013.

2012 Man Booker shortlist announced

The 2012 Man Booker shortlist has been announced. Six novels from the long list of twelve were selected by the judging panel to go forward for further judging to find the eventual winner, with the announcement being made on 16th October. Not surprisingly, last year’s winner, Hilary Mantel has made the shortlist with her sequel to Wolf Hall, Bring up the Bodies, along with Will Self for his novel titled Umbrella.

Syndetics book coverSyndetics book cover

2012 Man Booker Prize long-list announced

The long-list for the 2012 Man Booker Prize has been announced by the judging panel. Of the twelve books chosen there are four debut novels and one previous winner, Hilary Mantel, who has been selected for Bring Up the Bodies, a sequel to her previous year’s winner Wolf Hall.

Umbrella by Will Self has also been selected along with Skios by Michael Frayn, the oldest writer at 78 years of age. A previous I.M.P.A.C. Dublin Award winner Nicola Barker has also made the list with her new novel titled, Yips.

It was pleasing to see Rachel Joyce on the list for her debut novel, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, a highly recommended read. The short-list reduced to six, will be decided and announced in September, with the winner awarded the £50,000 prize in October.

Syndetics book coverSyndetics book coverSyndetics book cover