About this artist...

Decade(s) active:

We say:

Bob Southee (Lead Guitar)
Phil Campbell (Guitar)
Pat Southee (Piano)
Richard Cooper (Double Bass)
Barry Walden (Guitar / Vocals / Piano)
Jim McNaught (Drums)

The Supersonics were a Wellington rock and roll group, who originally formed as the Mana Quintet. They released four singles on HMV, the first three in 1960 and the last in 1961. They were “Walk Don’t Run”/”Guitar Boogie”, “Perfidia”/”Hard Boiled Boogie”, “The Huhu Bug”/”Waikanae”, and “Frightened City”/”Detour”. The “Huhu Bug” single was released with Bas Tubert as the Tubes.

Drummer Jim McNaught left the band to pursue a solo career and was replaced by Bryan Miller, from the Cascados.

Grateful acknowledgement is made to Bruce Sergent for letting us use this material from his great discographical site New Zealand Music of the 60’s, 70’s and a bit of 80’s.

Last edited: 14.04.18

From DigitalNZ:

Hm, something went wrong there -- please try again in a minute

have your say

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>