« Previous Entries

Category

Chloe




  • Books, Chloe

    Three on a librarian theme

    10.12.15 | Permalink | Comments Off on Three on a librarian theme

    Did you know we have books about our very own selves (librarians!) in our library? How meta is that!

    Syndetics book coverLibrary wars : love & war. 1 / story and art by Kiiro Yumi ; original concept by Hiro Arikawa ; [English translation & adaptation, Kinami Watabe].
    “Iku Kasahara has dreamed of joining the Library Forces ever since one of its soldiers stepped in to protect her favourite book from being confiscated in a bookstore when she was younger. But now that she’s finally a recruit, she’s finding her dream job to be a bit of a nightmare. Especially since her hard-hearted drill instructor seems to have it in for her!” (Syndetics summary)

    Syndetics book coverEvil librarian / Michelle Knudsen.
    “He’s young. He’s hot. He’s also evil. He’s . . . the librarian. When Cynthia Rothschild’s best friend, Annie, falls head over heels for the new high-school librarian, Cyn can totally see why. He’s really young and super cute and thinks Annie would make an excellent library monitor. But after meeting Mr. Gabriel, Cyn realizes something isn’t quite right. Maybe it’s the creepy look in the librarian’s eyes, or the weird feeling Cyn gets whenever she’s around him. Before long Cyn realizes that Mr. Gabriel is, in fact . . . a demon. Now, in addition to saving the school musical from technical disaster and trying not to make a fool of herself with her own hopeless crush, Cyn has to save her best friend from the clutches of the evil librarian, who also seems to be slowly sucking the life force out of the entire student body!” (adapted from Syndetics summary)

    Syndetics book coverUnshelved. Volume 1 / Bill Barnes and Gene Ambaum.
    “Welcome to Unshelved, the world’s only daily comic strip set in a public library! Writer Gene Ambaum (the made-up name of a real-life librarian) and co-writer and artist Bill Barnes have been publishing since February 16, 2002. Some of the stories are made up, some of them are based on real life, and some are absolutely true stories sent to us from our readers. And the stranger the story, the more likely it is to be true.” (Syndetics summary) Also as eBooks!


  • Books, Chloe

    Three on a magic and manners theme

    03.12.15 | Permalink | Comments Off on Three on a magic and manners theme

    Think wit, intrigue, high society, alternative-England, Regency period (or about then), and of course magic, and you have the three following books!

    Syndetics book coverSorcery and Cecelia, or, The enchanted chocolate pot : being the correspondence of two young ladies of quality regarding various magical scandals in London and the country / Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer
    “A great deal is happening in London this season. For starters, there’s the witch who tried to poison Kate at Sir Hilary’s induction into the Royal College of Wizards. (Since when does hot chocolate burn a hole straight through one’s dress?!) Then there’s Dorothea. Is it a spell that’s made her the toast of the town–or could it possibly have something to do with the charm-bag under Oliver’s bed? And speaking of Oliver, just how long can Cecelia and Kate make excuses for him? Ever since he was turned into a tree, he hasn’t bothered to tell anyone where he is! The girls might think it all a magical nightmare . . . if only they weren’t having so much fun.” (Syndetics summary)

    Syndetics book coverA breath of frost / Alyxandra Harvey.
    “Meet Emma Day and her two cousins, Gretchen and Penelope, are uninterested in their debutante lives. All the boring balls, tiresome curtsying and polite conversation leave much to be desired. Then a girl is found dead, frost clinging to her lifeless body, and the murder is traced to Emma. As their world is turned upside down, Emma discovers more about herself and her cousins, from her connection to the murders to the secrets of her family legacy. Now the girls must embrace their true Lovegrove inheritance in order to stop the chaos, even if that means risking their lives. Dangerously handsome Cormac Fairfax wants to help Emma – but, with secrets of his own to hide, can she trust him?The first book in a deliciously dark new trilogy. Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Ruth Warburton.” (Syndetics summary)

    Syndetics book coverA college of magics / Caroline Stevermer
    “Teenager Faris Nallaneen is the heir to the small northern dukedom of Galazon. Too young still to claim her title, her despotic Uncle Brinker has ruled in her place. Now he demands she be sent to Greenlaw College. For her benefit he insists. “To keep me out of the way, more like it ” But Greenlaw is not just any school-as Faris and her new best friend Jane discover. At Greenlaw students major in . . . magic. But it’s not all fun and games. When Faris makes an enemy of classmate Menary of Aravill, life could get downright . . . deadly.” (Syndetics summary)


  • Books, Chloe

    Three on a fairy tale retelling theme

    13.10.15 | Permalink | Comments Off on Three on a fairy tale retelling theme

    Who doesn’t love a good fairy tale retelling? Nobody, that’s who! So here’s three different authors with three (very!) different versions of Sleeping Beauty.

    Syndetics book coverSpindle’s end / Robin McKinley
    “A masterful retelling of “Sleeping Beauty.” Cursed by the evil fairy Pernicia, Princess Briar-Rose is kidnapped by the young fairy Katriona in order to save her and is raised by Katriona and her aunt. But the determined Pernicia, intent on revenge for a defeat 400 years before, won’t give up her search.” (Syndetics summary)

    Syndetics book coverA long, long sleep / Anna Sheehan.
    “It should have been a short suspended-animation sleep. But this time Rose wakes up to find her past is long gone– and her future full of peril. Rosalinda Fitzroy has been asleep for sixty-two years when she is woken by a kiss. Locked away in the chemically induced slumber of a stasis tube in a forgotten subbasement, sixteen-year-old Rose slept straight through the Dark Times that killed millions and utterly changed the world she knew. Now, her parents and her first love are long gone, and Rose– hailed upon her awakening as the long-lost heir to an interplanetary empire– is thrust alone into a future in which she is viewed as either a freak or a threat. Desperate to put the past behind her and adapt to her new world, Rose finds herself drawn to the boy who kissed her awake, hoping that he can help her to start fresh. But when a deadly danger jeopardizes her fragile new existence, Rose must face the ghosts of her past with open eyes– or be left without any future at all.” (Syndetics summary)

    Briar Rose book coverBriar Rose / Jane Yolen
    “Rebecca has always loved listening to her grandmother’s stories about Briar Rose. However, the old woman’s astonishing and hard-to-believe admission that she “is” Briar Rose sets Rebecca on an unforgettable path of self-discovery that will change her life forever.” (Syndetics summary)


  • Books, Chloe

    Book Cover Lookalikes: Big Hands

    07.05.15 | Permalink | Comments Off on Book Cover Lookalikes: Big Hands

    So very handy.

    If He Had Been With Me book coverDouble book coverThe Lucy Variations book coverFlesh & Bone book coverHuman .4 book coverLeverage book coverThe Clockwork Scarab book coverChange of Heart book coverToads and Diamonds book coverSign Language book coverFury of the Phoenix book coverGirl, Stolen book cover


  • Books, Chloe

    Book Cover Lookalikes: Back to Us

    16.04.15 | Permalink | Comments Off on Book Cover Lookalikes: Back to Us

    All these ladies are staring off into the distance.

    The Demon Catchers of Milan book coverThe Madness Underneath book coverUndone book coverThe Dark Unwinding book coverSo Close to You book coverIlluminate book coverRapture book coverThe Story of Us book coverThe Madman's Daughter book coverSomeday Dancer book coverThe Savage Grace book coverThe Convent book cover


  • Books, Chloe

    Book Cover Lookalikes: Symbols

    02.04.15 | Permalink | Comments Off on Book Cover Lookalikes: Symbols

    No humans anywhere on these book covers.

    Prodigy book coverThe Blood Keeper book coverStarstruck book coverThe Rise of Nine book coverChampion book coverA World Away book coverPregnant Pause book coverDivergent book coverBittersweet book coverThe Fame Game book coverLegacy of Lies and Don't Tell book coverFaerie Winter book cover


  • Books, Chloe

    Book Cover Lookalikes: Big Lips

    26.03.15 | Permalink | Comments Off on Book Cover Lookalikes: Big Lips

    Get your best pout on.

    Drink Slay Love book coverPutting Makeup on Dead People book coverBad Taste in Boys book coverGlass Heart book coverThe False Princess book coverOther Words for Love book coverMiles from Ordinary book coverNeed book coverSekret book coverGilt book coverDust & Decay book coverNearly Gone book cover


  • Books, Chloe

    Book Cover Lookalikes: Pretty Flowy Dresses

    12.03.15 | Permalink | Comments Off on Book Cover Lookalikes: Pretty Flowy Dresses

    Just chillin’ in your ball dress.

    Dragonswood book coverAlice in Zombieland book coverThe Selection book coverGrave Mercy book coverThe Girl in the Steel Corset book coverRumors book coverBewitching book coverAlways a Witch book coverTorment book coverEverneath book coverThe Springsweet book coverEmerald book cover


  • Books, Chloe

    Book Cover Lookalikes: Clouds

    05.03.15 | Permalink | Comments Off on Book Cover Lookalikes: Clouds

    This one looks like a dragon!

    Back to Black Brick book coverEvery Day book coverA Corner of White book coverMister Death's Blue-Eyed Girls book coverThe Floating Islands book coverThis Side of Salvation book coverLegacy of the Clockwork Key book coverToken of Darkness book coverThe Young Elites book coverKetchup Clouds book coverShadowlands book coverSome Quiet Place book cover


  • Books, Chloe

    Book Cover Lookalikes: Words

    26.02.15 | Permalink | Comments Off on Book Cover Lookalikes: Words

    Words, words, and more words.

    Invisibility book coverAnthem for Jackson Dawes book coverIsla and the Happily Ever After book coverRevenge of the Girl with the Great Personality book coverPirate Cinema book coverMessy book coverLife in Outer Space book coverMe and Earl and the Dying Girl book cover99 Flavours of Suck book coverSiege and Storm book coverThe Geography of You and Me book coverAristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe book cover


« Previous Entries