«
»

Books, Grimm, New

Upcoming Fiction Recently Ordered

18.12.14 | Comment?

More from series-world: beginnings, ends, sequels and bridging stories – all to look forward to in 2015.

Fairest, Marissa Meyer. This is number 3.5 in the Lunar Chronicles. We are really looking forward to Winter (number 4, the book, not the season) which comes out at the end of next year, so it’s a happy thing that Fairest will be available in February to tide us over. Fairest tells the back story of Queen Levana (“Long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story,” says goodreads.com, a big tease). The fairytale being referenced here is Snow White, with Levana being the Evil Queen (or is she?).

The Winner’s Crime, Marie Rutkosky. The sequel to The Winner’s Curse, which was one of our picks for 2014. “The engagement of Lady Kestrel to Valoria’s crown prince means one celebration after another. But to Kestrel it means living in a cage of her own making. As the wedding approaches, she aches to tell Arin the truth about her engagement… if she could only trust him. Yet can she even trust herself? For – unknown to Arin – Kestrel is becoming a skilled practitioner of deceit: an anonymous spy passing information to Herran, and close to uncovering a shocking secret. As Arin enlists dangerous allies in the struggle to keep his country’s freedom, he can’t fight the suspicion that Kestrel knows more than she shows. In the end, it might not be a dagger in the dark that cuts him open, but the truth. And when that happens, Kestrel and Arin learn just how much their crimes will cost them” (goodreads.com).

The Ruby Circle, Richelle Mead (the final Bloodlines novel). “Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives. After their secret romance is exposed, Sydney and Adrian find themselves facing the wrath of both the Alchemists and the Moroi in this electrifying conclusion to Richelle Mead’s New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series. When the life of someone they both love is put on the line, Sydney risks everything to hunt down a deadly former nemesis. Meanwhile, Adrian becomes enmeshed in a puzzle that could hold the key to a shocking secret about spirit magic, a secret that could shake the entire Moroi world” (goodreads.com)

Red Queen, Victoria Aveyard. The first in a new trilogy, and recommended for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. “The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers. To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change. Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control. But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?” (goodreads.com)


Comments are closed.


«
»