Each year at approximately this time the American Library Association announces the winners of its prestigious book awards, generating much excitement. Here’s a quick summary of the deserved winners this year:

Newbery Medal Winner

The Newbery Medal is one of the most prestigious awards for writers of children’s fiction (and sometimes teen-type books win it also).

Printz Award Winner

The Printz Award is given for excellence in young adult literature.

  • Where Things Come Back, by John Corey Whaley

Printz Honour Books

Alex Awards

The Alex Awards are for the best books that appeal to a young adult audience. There are 10 Alex Award winners (we have some in the general fiction collection):

  1. Big Girl Small, by Rachel DeWoskin
  2. In Zanesville, by Jo Ann Beard
  3. The Lover’s Dictionary, by David Levithan
  4. The New Kids: Big Dreams and Brave Journeys at a High School for Immigrant Teens, by Brooke Hauser
  5. The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern
  6. Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline
  7. Robopocalypse: A Novel, by Daniel H. Wilson
  8. Salvage the Bones, by Jesmyn Ward
  9. The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt: A Novel in Pictures, by Caroline Preston
  10. The Talk-Funny Girl, by Roland Merullo

If you’re interested in reading award winning books, have a look at these previous posts.