New Year; New Books! Are you making the most of your Library these holidays?

These awesome new kids books have just hit the shelves at your local library!

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsHow to Raise your Grown-ups by Lauren Child

The Bobton-Trent seniors certainly know how to make the most of their extravagant wealth – socialising, doing things, buying things and generally being more than a little bit … irresponsible… Luckily for them, their son Hubert Horatio is an exceptionally intelligent, talented and sensible child. Unluckily for Hubert, this tends to mean that a lot of his spare time is spent steering his rather unruly set of grown-ups out of trouble.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsYou don’t know everything Jilly P! by Alex Gino

When her new baby sister is born deaf, Jilly makes an online connection with a fellow fantasy fan, who happens to be black and deaf, and begins to learn about the many obstacles that exist in the world for people who are different from her


Image courtesy of SyndeticsNo fixed address by Susin Nielsen

Twelve-year-old Felix’s appearance on a television game show reveals that he and his mother have been homeless for a while, but also restores some of his faith in other people.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsDown with the Crims by Kate Davies

The Addams Family meets Despicable Me in the first book of this new trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch!


Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe once and future geek Camelot Code; bk 1 by Mari Mancusi

When thirteen-year-old Arthur of Gal, the future King Arthur, accidentally time-travels to the twenty-first century, Sophie Sawyer, twelve, must convince him to return and correct the time line.

Kids’ Club Review by Aadarsh: Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and the race against time

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and the race against timeChitty Chitty Bang Bang and the race against time, Frank Cottrell Boyce ; illustrated by Joe Berger

This book is about a car that has a mind of its own ! It travels with the Tooting family.

My favourite character is Jeremy aka Jem because he helped build Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. My favorite part of the book is when the Tooting family went back into time and saw lots of dinosaurs and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang’s previous owners.

I recommend this book to people aged 8-10. I give this book a rating of 5 out of 5.

5 stars

Reviewed by Aadarsh from Johnsonville and Churton Park School , 8 years old

More new kids fiction has arrived, be sure take a look at this awesome selection!

How exciting, kids! Here are some new kids fiction books that you can grab from your local library. Whether you like Coding, music, horses or a bit of a mystery, there’s bound to be something here that’s for you.

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsA Star in the Stables by Michelle Bates (Sandy Lane Stables series)

Jess is thrilled to discover that a film is being shot just down the road from Sandy Lane. She can’t wait to meet the lead actor, Bella Ford, who’s coming to the stables to learn to ride side-saddle for the film. But when Bella arrives and sets her sights on Jess’s pony, Skylark, suddenly Jess has to face a very difficult decision.

 

 

Spotlight on Coding Club! -Girls who Code; bk 4 by Michelle SchustermanImage courtesy of Syndetics

The girls in the coding club are preparing their voting app for the school talent show, but when they discover Erin is secretly suffering from anxiety they band together to find her help.

 

 

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsLucky Button by Michael Morpurgo

A lonely boy struggles to cope with school bullies and caring for his mother, until a mysterious encounter reveals life in the Foundling Hospital in the eighteenth century and unravels a touching tale about the power of music. Beautifully illustrated by Kate Greenaway Medal-winning illustrator Michael Foreman.

 

 

 

The Inventors at No. 8 by A.M MorganImage courtesy of Syndetics

Twelve-year-olds George, the very unlucky third Lord of Devonshire, and his neighbor, scientist Ada Byron, join forces against a nefarious group of criminals who steal the map to a priceless family heirloom.

 

 

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe Mona Lisa Key– bk 1;Time Castaways by Liesl Shurtliff

Mateo, Ruby, and Corey Hudson’s parents don’t have too many rules. It’s the usual stuff: Be good. Do your homework. And never ride the subway without an adult, EVER. But when the siblings wake up late for school, they have no choice but to break a rule. The Hudson siblings board the subway in Manhattan and end up on a frigate ship in Paris…in the year 1911. As time does tell, the Hudson family has a lot of secrets. The past, present, and future are intertwined—and a time-traveling ship called the Vermillion is at the center. Racing to untangle the truth, the kids find themselves in the middle of one of the greatest art heists of all time. And the adventure is just getting started.

 

Kids’ Club Review by Genevye: Stage fright on a summer night

Stage fright on a summer nightStage fright on a summer night, by Mary Pope Osborne

This book was a exciting book because Jack and Annie get to go to England , and they meet William Shakespeare! One of the greatest authors!! They also see Queen Elizabeth !! When I was reading on the page of Queen Elizabeth it said that she wore a red wig and she had black teeth! She got black teeth because she ate too much sugar . I learned about at school that if you eat too much sugar you will die . So be careful of making choices of eating too much sugar . Overall , I liked this adventure in the Magic Tree House Series and I am definitely continuing the series till im finished all of the series .

5 stars

Reviewed by Genevye from Central City and , 7 years old