8 New Junior Comics to Read Just in Time for Winter!

Kia ora kids!

Here are some new junior comics that have just arrived at Wellington City Libraries! Head on down to your local library and grab these awesome reads just in time for winter!

Enjoy!


image courtesy of syndeticsInvestiGators.

Time to get your super sleuth on with the InvestiGators, Mango and Brash, sewer-loving agents on their first mission together, who have not one but two mysteries to solve! Can Mango and Brash uncover the clues, crack their cases, and corral the crooks–or will the criminals wriggle out of their grasp? Overall a very humorous read!

image courtesy of syndeticsSnoopy: First Beagle in Space.

“Join Snoopy and the rest of the Peanuts gang as he seeks new milestones in the space race! Even though the first moon landing was 50 years ago, Snoopy has a bold new mission: to be the first beagle in space! Join Snoopy as he sets out on his ambitious quest, while also leading Woodstock and friends as a Beagle Scout and keeping the company of his owner, the round-headed kid Charlie Brown.”–Publisher’s website.

image courtesy of syndeticsCaptain Underpants: George and Harold’s Epic Comix Collection Vol. 2.

Lovable series, Captain Underpants returns with another comic to entertain fans far and wide. “This second collection features even more of George and Harold’s hilarious comix from the first three seasons of the TV show — nearly 200 pages of comics total! Each epic adventure features a brand-new villain from the hit Netflix TV series.”–Provided by publisher.

image courtesy of syndeticsRocket Raccoon and Groot : tall tails.

If you love adventure, animals, outer space and just about anything in between, this is the book for you! Join Rocket Racoon and Groot in weird and wacky adaptation of Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy as you have never seen it before!


image courtesy of syndeticsIllegal.

“Ebo is alone. His brother, Kwame, has disappeared, and Ebo knows it can only be to attempt the hazardous journey to Europe, and a better life, the same journey their sister set out on months ago. But Ebo refuses to be left behind in Ghana. He sets out after Kwame and joins him on the quest to reach Europe. Ebo’s epic journey takes him across the Sahara Desert to the dangerous streets of Tripoli, and finally out to the merciless sea. But with every step he holds on to his hope for a new life, and a reunion with his family”–Provided by publisher.

image courtesy of syndeticsThe Sisters. 1: Just Like Family.

“Meet two wonderful young girls who happen to be sisters-Maureen, and her older sister Wendy. Both are full of personality and a strong sense of independence. So while they may love each other with all their hearts, it’s not always easy for the two of them to be together. After all, when we’re still very young, age differences are much more meaningful. While Maureen may want to hang out with her older sister, nothing could be more embarrassing for Wendy. See how despite all odds, they still manage to get through each day without killing each other… well, at least so far!” — publisher’s web site.

image courtesy of syndeticsThe sisters. 4, Selfie awareness.

Beach vacation with the Sisters! But can their parents stop Wendy from burying Maureen in the sand… permanently?!


image courtesy of syndeticsStig & Tilde. 2, Leader of the pack.

“In their second adventure, Stig and Tilde once again find themselves shipwrecked on a mysterious island. This time, after their shipwreck, Stig & Tilde are welcomed by a pack of feral wolves! With only each other as backup, will they make it out unscathed? Find out in the next exciting adventure!”–Provided by publisher.

Children’s DVDs: New Releases in June 2020.

Hey kids! Winter is around the corner and there will be more days spending indoors. To curb the winter’s blues… and boredom, why not head on down to your local library and rent some new DVDs added to the children’s movie collection to keep you entertained. So what are you waiting for? Go down to your local branch and borrow these DVDs!

Enjoy!

image courtsy of syndeticsPAW patrol. Robo dog rescues.

Join the PAW Patrol and their trusty Robo Dog in 7 robotic adventures, including a double-length rescue. Help the pups fix Robo Dog’s glitches and see him become the team’s PAWsome driver, pilot, and only robot rescuer! Plus, watch the pups work together to stop a giant rampaging robot!
image courtesy of syndetics

Playmobil : the movie.

When her little brother Charlie isappears into the magical universe of Playmobil, Marla ust go on a quest of a lifetime to bring him home. As she journeys across stunning new worlds, Marla teams up with some unlikely new friends–smooth-talking food truck driver Del, dashing secret agent Rex Dasher, a wholehearted robot, a fairy-godmother and more to rescue Charlie from the villainous Maximus.

image courtesy of amazon.comSpies in disguise.

Super spy Lance Sterling and scientist Walter Beckett are almost exact opposites. Lance is smooth, suave, and debonair. Walter is not. But when events take an unexpected turn, this unlikely duo is forced to team up for the ultimate mission that will require an almost impossible disguise, transforming Lance into the brave, fierce, majestic pigeon. Walter and Lance suddenly have to work as a team, or the whole world is in peril.

image courtesy of syndeticsBlaze and the monster machines. Ninja Blaze.

Hi-Ya! Blaze and AJ discover the Ninja Training Grounds, where Ninja Master Blackbelt practices his moves with his ninja pals! Then power up with Pickle on a mission to save Crusher, and gear up with Blaze at the big Team Truck Challenge where he shows Crusher how to race fair and square. And it’s all in a Blaze work when Blaze takes on new jobs and transforms into awesome vehicles!

image courtesy of syndetics
Playing with fire.

Chaos and hilarity ensure after an old-fashioned fire superintendent and his crew find themselves in over their heads while attempting to babysit the three lively and unpredictable young children they rescued from a burning house.

image courtesy of amazon.comFrozen. II.

Anna, Elsa, Kristoff, Olaf, and Sven leave Arendelle to travel to an ancient, autumn-bound forest of an enchanted land. They set out to find the origin of Elsa’s powers in order to save their kingdom.

Also, why not go back to where it all began with…

Fr… Fr… Frrr…. Frozen!

image courtesy of amazon.co.ukFrozen 

You can never go wrong with Frozen. Relive the magic and musical renditions of “Let it go” in this amazing classic about family, friendship and diversity.

 

.

 

Kids’ Club Review by Jennifer: My Sister Jodie [electronic resource]

My Sister Jodie [electronic resource]My Sister Jodie [electronic resource], Jacqueline Wilson

This book is about to sisters who have always been the best of friends
but when their parents accept a job at a boarding school and they all move there everything starts to change between boys who are absolutely NOT a good idea and Badger watching,
The story ends with a tragic event that brought tears to my eyes I HIGHLY recommend this book to EVERYONE between the age of 9 – 13

5 stars

Reviewed by Jennifer from Brooklyn and , 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Anna: The bridge home

The bridge homeThe bridge home, Padma Venkatraman

The Bridge Home is about two girls called Viji and Rukku, who run away from home and make unexpected friends on the bridge that they take refuge on. Will they survive?

I really enjoyed this book because it was interesting and it tells you about what it is like to live in India on the streets. I think everyone should read this book.

5 stars

Reviewed by Anna from Karori and Karori Normal School , 10 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Alice: The bridge home

The bridge homeThe bridge home, Padma Venkatraman

I loved this book, The bridge home made me cry and laugh i went through so many emotions while reading this book. This book is about Viji and rukku 2 sisters who ran away from home and go through quite real adventures together they make new friends and start life from scratch…

5 stars

Reviewed by Alice from Miramar and Seatoun School , 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by millie: Sisters

SistersSisters, Raina Telgemeier

Personally I loved this book, manly because it was so relatable for me and my sister. This book is one of my favourite books that I have read for this challenge, it dose jump back In time so when the page has a yellow tinge that’s when it is back in time. I definitely give this book a five star rating👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

5 stars

Reviewed by millie from Miramar and Seatoun School , 11 years old

New Year; New Books! Are you making the most of your Library these holidays?

These awesome new kids books have just hit the shelves at your local library!

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsHow to Raise your Grown-ups by Lauren Child

The Bobton-Trent seniors certainly know how to make the most of their extravagant wealth – socialising, doing things, buying things and generally being more than a little bit … irresponsible… Luckily for them, their son Hubert Horatio is an exceptionally intelligent, talented and sensible child. Unluckily for Hubert, this tends to mean that a lot of his spare time is spent steering his rather unruly set of grown-ups out of trouble.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsYou don’t know everything Jilly P! by Alex Gino

When her new baby sister is born deaf, Jilly makes an online connection with a fellow fantasy fan, who happens to be black and deaf, and begins to learn about the many obstacles that exist in the world for people who are different from her


Image courtesy of SyndeticsNo fixed address by Susin Nielsen

Twelve-year-old Felix’s appearance on a television game show reveals that he and his mother have been homeless for a while, but also restores some of his faith in other people.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsDown with the Crims by Kate Davies

The Addams Family meets Despicable Me in the first book of this new trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch!


Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe once and future geek Camelot Code; bk 1 by Mari Mancusi

When thirteen-year-old Arthur of Gal, the future King Arthur, accidentally time-travels to the twenty-first century, Sophie Sawyer, twelve, must convince him to return and correct the time line.

Kids’ Club Review by Margaret: The honeymoon sisters

The honeymoon sistersThe honeymoon sisters, by Gwyneth Rees

This book was a brilliant book about a girl who is finding it hard to get along with her new foster sister and cousin.
I love it and it has so much plot and you can see the characters developing over the story.
The main character, Poppy found it hard to get along with her foster sister/cousin, Sadie at first but then she discovers some secrets about Sadie and feels sorry for her. Sadie is very strong willed and badly behaved but acts all goody goody to Poppy’s mum at first.
But Sadie doesn’t stay like that forever…
I would totally recomened this book

5 stars

Reviewed by Margaret from Karori and , 11 years old

The twelfth most requested book

image courtesy of syndetics

So remember the most wanted from last month? One book that only just missed out on the top 10 spot was Little Women by Louisa May Alcott.

So what? Well the 12th most popular book last month was written 140 years ago!

We have lots of editions. Some are condensed versions like this ( they don’t have as many words; it’s how how I first read it). Some have added goodness in the form of historical notes like this one. Some you can listen to like this.

Your mum almost certainly read it, your grandmother probably read it, your grandmother’s grandmother could very well have read it. Why don’t you read it too.