Kids’ Club Review by Keya: Scarlet and Ivy; The lost twin

Scarlet and Ivy; The lost twin, by Sophie Cleverly

When Scarlet tragically passes away, her mirror twin Ivy is forced to replace her sister at Scarlet’s dying place, Rookwood school.

But there is more to Scarlet’s death than meets the eye. She has left behind several pages of her diary, leaving clues for Ivy to find and discover the truth about one particularly ruthless teacher…

5 stars

Reviewed by Keya from Central City, 11 years old

Some great new kids fiction to read these school holidays!

Yay!!! It’s the School Holidays! So stock your reading shelf with these fab new books available at your local Library!

 

Image courtesy of Syndetics

The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage ; The Find-Outers #1, by Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. Someone has set fire to Mr Hick’s cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it’s not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to “clear orf”. The Find-Outers are determined – they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does! First published in 1943, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

 

 

The Stinky Truth by Joe Berger

It’s the school holidays and Sam and his best friend can’t wait to see Cry Wolfe, the first movie starring their favourite crime-fighting hero. But Sam’s mum has set him a challenge. He can only go and see the movie IF, and only if, he can make it through the entire holiday without telling a single fib. Can Sam go six whole weeks, without a single porky!? WARNING: contains fibs, farts and zumba-dancing mums.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsDark Tricks by Linda Chapman

Do you believe in magic? Sita and her friends do! When they meet the Star Animals, a whole world of adventure unfolds. Sita and her star animal, a deer called Willow, must use their special powers to stop the forces of dark magic. As the Star Friends’ ability to use their magic gets stronger, the forces of dark magic working against them become more intense, too. But the person using dark magic is taking risks – can the girls find out who their enemy is, and confront them once and for all?

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe New Kid:  Unpopular me by James O’Loghlin

“New kids aren’t cool. Everyone knows that. Eleven-year-old Sam is the new kid at school but he has a plan, or two, or three to make himself the Most popular kid ever. What you are about to read is unforgettable (frog underpants, lonely losers, human umbrellas, bad boys…). It’s bumpy (jumping out a window is never a good idea). It’s the story of kid who wants to be more.”–Back cover.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsGreta Zargo and the Amoeba Monsters from the middle of the earth by A.F. Harold

Greta doesn’t know it, but weird wobbling monsters are devouring her neighbours one by one. But right now Greta’a busy trying to find her aunt, who’s gone mysteriously missing… — Adapted from back cover.

Kids’ Club Review by Genevye: Thea Stilton And The Venice Masquerade

Thea Stilton And The Venice Masquerade, by Thea Stilton

In my school library, there are two boxes of Thea Stilton books. One day, I saw my friend getting out 3 of them which made me look curious about what they were about. Because I never got a chance to get any, I started reserving some in case if I didn’t like them (Which I did).

Anyways, in this book, The Thea Sisters, (Which are called Nicky, Colette, Pamela, Paulina, and Violet) are headed to Venice, Italy! They will be there for a carnival and visiting their new friends. The Thea Sisters enjoy exploring the city and seeing the beautiful costumes mice wear to the carnival. But a thief has been stealing other people’s things! The thief always throws a card with a top hat every time it steal’s something. Can The Thea Sisters unmask him before the festival ends? Read the book to find out! Overall, I recommend ages 7 – 9 should read this.

4 stars

Reviewed by Genevye from Johnsonville, 7 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Keya: Beyond the grave

Beyond the graveBeyond the grave, by Jude Watson

Betrayed by their cousins, abandoned by their uncle, and with only the slimmest hint to guide them, fourteen-year old Amy Cahill and her younger brother, Dan, rush off to Egypt on the hunt for 39 Clues that lead to a source of unimaginable power. But when they arrive, Amy and Dan get something completely unexpected – a message from their dead grandmother, Grace. Did Grace set out to help the two orphans . . . or are Amy and Dan heading for the most devastating betrayal yet?

5 stars

Reviewed by Keya from Central City, 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Keya: The sword thief

The sword thiefThe sword thief, by Peter Lerangis

Amy and Dan Cahill have been located once again, this time in the company of the notoriously unreliable Alistair Oh. Could they have been foolish enough to make an alliance?

Spies report that Amy and Dan seem to be tracking the life of one of the most powerful fighters the world has ever known. If this fearsome warrior was a Cahill, his secrets are sure to be well-guarded . . . and the price to uncover them just might be lethal.

5 stars

Reviewed by Keya from Central City, 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Keya: One false note

One false noteOne false note, by Gordon Korman

THIS JUST IN! Amy and Dan Cahill were spotted on a train, hot on the trail of one of 39 Clues hidden around the world. BUT WAIT! Police report a break-in at an elite hotel, and the suspects ALSO sound suspiciously like Amy and Dan. UPDATE! Amy and Dan have been seen in a car . . . no, in a speedboat chase . . . and HOLD EVERYTHING! They’re being chased by an angry mob?!? When there’s a Clue on the line, anything can happen.

5 stars

Reviewed by Keya from Central City, 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Keya: The maze of bones

The maze of bonesThe maze of bones, by Rick Riordan

When Amy and Dan Cahill’s Grandmother, Grace Cahill, tragically passes away, the siblings are tossed into another world. At Grace’s funeral, Grace herself talks to them from a video. They either get to keep a million dollars and go, or join the hunt of the family, for 39 clues. Amy and Dan give up their million dollars for the race, but you never know what lies in wait for them.

5 stars

Reviewed by Keya from Central City, 11 years old