Kids’ Club Review by Luis: Where the wild things are

Where the wild things are, by Maurice Sendak

This book is about a kid who had an outfit that was a wolf His mother told him to stay in his room for two years then his room turned into a forest. He rode a boat then he was the king of the wild things. At the end bit his mum made him supper then he did not know that his supper was still hot. I like this book because he was the king of the forest and all of the wild things were scared of him. In the middle of this book there were only pictures.

5 stars

Reviewed by Luis from Tawa, 7 years old

Some great new kids fiction to read these school holidays!

Yay!!! It’s the School Holidays! So stock your reading shelf with these fab new books available at your local Library!

 

Image courtesy of Syndetics

The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage ; The Find-Outers #1, by Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. Someone has set fire to Mr Hick’s cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it’s not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to “clear orf”. The Find-Outers are determined – they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does! First published in 1943, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

 

 

The Stinky Truth by Joe Berger

It’s the school holidays and Sam and his best friend can’t wait to see Cry Wolfe, the first movie starring their favourite crime-fighting hero. But Sam’s mum has set him a challenge. He can only go and see the movie IF, and only if, he can make it through the entire holiday without telling a single fib. Can Sam go six whole weeks, without a single porky!? WARNING: contains fibs, farts and zumba-dancing mums.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsDark Tricks by Linda Chapman

Do you believe in magic? Sita and her friends do! When they meet the Star Animals, a whole world of adventure unfolds. Sita and her star animal, a deer called Willow, must use their special powers to stop the forces of dark magic. As the Star Friends’ ability to use their magic gets stronger, the forces of dark magic working against them become more intense, too. But the person using dark magic is taking risks – can the girls find out who their enemy is, and confront them once and for all?

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe New Kid:  Unpopular me by James O’Loghlin

“New kids aren’t cool. Everyone knows that. Eleven-year-old Sam is the new kid at school but he has a plan, or two, or three to make himself the Most popular kid ever. What you are about to read is unforgettable (frog underpants, lonely losers, human umbrellas, bad boys…). It’s bumpy (jumping out a window is never a good idea). It’s the story of kid who wants to be more.”–Back cover.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsGreta Zargo and the Amoeba Monsters from the middle of the earth by A.F. Harold

Greta doesn’t know it, but weird wobbling monsters are devouring her neighbours one by one. But right now Greta’a busy trying to find her aunt, who’s gone mysteriously missing… — Adapted from back cover.

Kids’ Club Review by Tulip: When a monster is born

When a monster is born, by Sean Taylor and Nick Sharratt

 

I liked this book because it was interesting and the illustrations were very colourful. This story is about if a monster is born, It could either be a take it to school monster or a under your bed monster, and so on and so forth. I recommend this book for early beginners or for people who just enjoy short stories.

4 stars

Reviewed by Tulip from Newtown, 12 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Aoi: The princess in black and the hungry bunny horde

The princess in black and the hungry bunny hordeThe princess in black and the hungry bunny horde, by Shannon Hale

Princess Magnolia and her unicorn, Frimplepants, are having Brunch with princess Sneezewort. That means soft rolls with butter, cheesy omelets and sugar dusted doughnuts. But the monster alarm rings so she has to go the secret cave and the monster are bunnies. They eat everything even trees. Would the Princess in Black defeat the bunnies?

3 stars

Reviewed by Aoi from Karori and Thorndon School , 7 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Molly: The princess in black

The princess in blackThe princess in black, by Shannon Hale

This book is about a princess who is having a party and has invited a lot of people. However the monster alarm keeps ringing and she has to keep inventing games so she can become the princess in black and fight the monsters. I enjoyed this book as it was easy to read. Children 6+ would also like this book.

4 stars

Reviewed by Molly from Karori and Karori Normal School , 10 years old