Kids’ Club Review by Ruby-May: Magyk : Septimus Heap, wizard apprentice

Magyk : Septimus Heap, wizard apprentice, by Angie Sage

Awesome! These are the books you need when your bored or when you need an adventure. The world of Septimus Heap will take you to the places in your mind,the places you can only dream about. From the dark magic and kidnapping to Aunt Zelda’s cottage and the dragon boat, you’re sure to have a good time from the moment you open the book.
Septimus was stolen from his family when he was a new born. Faking his death, the Heap family midwife took Septimus to the Young Army Barracks. In the Barracks, Septimus was trained to be a soldier. Meanwhile, the Heap family were raising the baby Princess Jenna, as her mother was murdered by an assassin. This same assassin is now sent to kill Jenna! On the morning of her tenth birthday, the assassin finds Jenna, Septimus Heap is frozen and the adventure begins……

5 stars

Reviewed by Ruby-May from Tawa, 10 years old

Some great new kids fiction to read these school holidays!

Yay!!! It’s the School Holidays! So stock your reading shelf with these fab new books available at your local Library!

 

Image courtesy of Syndetics

The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage ; The Find-Outers #1, by Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. Someone has set fire to Mr Hick’s cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it’s not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to “clear orf”. The Find-Outers are determined – they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does! First published in 1943, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

 

 

The Stinky Truth by Joe Berger

It’s the school holidays and Sam and his best friend can’t wait to see Cry Wolfe, the first movie starring their favourite crime-fighting hero. But Sam’s mum has set him a challenge. He can only go and see the movie IF, and only if, he can make it through the entire holiday without telling a single fib. Can Sam go six whole weeks, without a single porky!? WARNING: contains fibs, farts and zumba-dancing mums.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsDark Tricks by Linda Chapman

Do you believe in magic? Sita and her friends do! When they meet the Star Animals, a whole world of adventure unfolds. Sita and her star animal, a deer called Willow, must use their special powers to stop the forces of dark magic. As the Star Friends’ ability to use their magic gets stronger, the forces of dark magic working against them become more intense, too. But the person using dark magic is taking risks – can the girls find out who their enemy is, and confront them once and for all?

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe New Kid:  Unpopular me by James O’Loghlin

“New kids aren’t cool. Everyone knows that. Eleven-year-old Sam is the new kid at school but he has a plan, or two, or three to make himself the Most popular kid ever. What you are about to read is unforgettable (frog underpants, lonely losers, human umbrellas, bad boys…). It’s bumpy (jumping out a window is never a good idea). It’s the story of kid who wants to be more.”–Back cover.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsGreta Zargo and the Amoeba Monsters from the middle of the earth by A.F. Harold

Greta doesn’t know it, but weird wobbling monsters are devouring her neighbours one by one. But right now Greta’a busy trying to find her aunt, who’s gone mysteriously missing… — Adapted from back cover.

Kids’ Club Review by Shreya: The Precious Ring

The Precious Ring, by Anna Branford

This is an interesting book for children it is easy to read but it doesn’t matter Even I am 9 But I am still reading this book. I know That Lily wanted to keep the paddling pool but it was belonged to someone else so she could not have it .

3 stars

Reviewed by Shreya from Central City, 9 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Cardi: Pet Show Prize

Pet Show Prize, by Rosie Banks

I loved this book. Summer, Ellie, Jasmine and Trixi are this time off to Featherly Farm! But Queen Malice (the king of secret kingdom nasty sister) has stolen the girls talents! She tricked them into putting on ” friendship bracelets” that stole the talents. (see story Sparkle Statue to find out more). Ellie and Jasmine’s talents have been rescued, (see Sparkle Statue and Melody Medal) but Summer and Trixi’s talents are still missing! ( read this book and Twinkle Trophy). In this book, they get Summer’s talent back. Find out more in Pet Show Prize.

5 stars

Reviewed by Cardi from Brooklyn, 7 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Cardi: Melody Medal

Melody Medal, by Rosie Banks

 

I LOVED this book. In it, Summer + Ellie + Jasmine are of to the wonderful, magical world of Secret Kingdom, a were they have met unicorns, mermaids, pixes and lots more! This time they go to Serenity Island, and it is beautiful. In secret kingdom, it had been talent week, and the trophies are: the Sparkle Statue, the Melody Medal, the Pet Show Prize and the Twinkle Trophy. In the story, Sparkle Statue, Queen Malice takes away the girls talents! Ellie has lost her art talent, Jasmine has lost her talent for music and dancing, and their pixi friend, Trixi, has lost her talent for magic. In Sparkle Statue, Ellie gets her talent back and in this story, Jasmine gets her talent back too. The girls meet a girl called Octavia and she is making a music show. But then Queen malice comes! She ties Octavia up, and then she can not conduct the show! The girls try to stop her, but then Queen Malice lets her servants, the Storm Sprites, lose, and they start to spoil everything! And the king, King Merry, is still at sea and Queen Malice makes a storm and then he can not get to Serenity Island! The girls are about to do the show again and then the sea will stop being so stormy, but then Summer notices that the storm is blowing the instruments away! The girls get them back, but they a ruined. And the Storm Sprites are causing so much trouble. So then Trixi tells the girls to look for special flowers that make you go to sleep and in no time the Storm Sprites are sleeping! Then the girls make some new instruments and the show goes ahead! Then King Merry arrives and then Octavia is free and she gives Jasmine her talent!

5 stars

Reviewed by Cardi from Brooklyn, 7 years old

9 New Non Fiction just in time for winter.

Hey Kids!

Winter is around the corner and Wellington City Libraries is boiling hot… with some new and fantastic junior non fiction busting from the shelves! Books featured in this post are bestselling books that will blow your mind, get you thinking, unleash your creativity and hopefully change your life for the better! As always, our junior non fiction books always aim to keep you informed and entertain you all at once.

Enjoy!

 

image courtesy of syndeticsHarry Potter: A Journey through a history of magic.

Read this book and go an an icredible journey exploring the hisorty of the magic at the heart of the Harry Potter series, as well as explore a collection of magical artifacts featured in the Britisth Library.

 

 

image courtesy of syndeticsAmazing Brick Mosaics : Fantastic Projects to Build with Lego Blocks You Already Have.

Arts, crafts and Lego Bricks comes alive with this amazing book that contains fantastic mosaic projects to build and create with Lego blocks you already have. Highly recommended and a librarian’s choice all the way!

 

image courtesy of syndetics
Good night stories for rebel girls. 2.

The sequel to the sensational New York Times bestseller, Good Night Stories for Revel Girls is an entirely new collection of extraordinary women ranging from Queens, activists, ballerinas, lawyers, inventors, and so much more!

 

image courtesy of syndetics
How to think like a coder without trying.

Want to get into coding but don’t know where to start? This is the book for you! Full of puzzles and exercises that will help you think logically, as well as allow you to put into practice coding skills into everyday situations and opportunities.

 

 

image courtesy of syndeticsVietnamese childrens favorite stories.

The tales chosen for this book share the Vietnamese five great virtues: Nhan (Compassion), Le (Rituals), Nghia (Righteousness), Tri (Wisdom), and Tin (Trust). The author notes that her parents used traditional stories to teach children values and morals. Now the author, who is a story teller, uses the same tales to help Vietnamese children learn their traditional culture and values.

 

image courtesy of syndetics
50 things you should know about the Vietnam war.

“Between the late 1950s and the early 1970s, the United States was drawn into the longest war in its history. Find out how this major conflict developed, learn about the main battles, and meet the key figures on both sides”–Back cover.

 

image courtesy of syndetics
My first Orchestra Book.

Tormod the Troll loves music, but is tired of listening to the same thing repeatedly. He goes in search of more music and meets an orchestra.

 

 

image courtesy of syndeticsApes to Zebras: An A- Z of Shape Poems.

Shapes, animals, poetry and the alphabet are rolled into one with this gorgeous collection of animal poems! Featuring a full alphabet of animals, birds, and insects, with the odd extinct or imaginary creature thrown in, these beautiful shape poems are a perfect way to introduce children to poetry. Some funny, some serious, there is something here for everyone.

 

image courtesy of syndeticsJourneys : young readers’ letters to authors who changed their lives.

Read letters written by young people to authors about how books and poetry have shaped and changed their lives for the better.

Kids’ Club Review by Cardi: swan palace

Swan palace, by Rosie Banks

This book was amazing. Summer,Ellie and Jasmine are off to swan palace, but they find out that a wicked witch is frightening the swans! Oh, no! Summer notices that one swan has fur on it sticking up. Summer has found the swan QUEEN! The swan queen turns into a person and it has a crown made of feathers and it is so beautiful. It is on the front of this book. The king of Secret Kingdom has a bad sister called Malice. She let out Summers fairy tale bad guys and now they are in Secret Kingdom so the witch must be one of the bad guys! Jasmine has a plan. She knows that Malice wants the crown. She gets the witch and Malice to fight, but the crown brakes! Oh, no! And but wile the witch and Malice are fighting, they get her back into the book! I give this book 5 stars.

5 stars

Reviewed by Cardi from Brooklyn, 7 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Kimberly: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, by J.K Rowling

I think that this book suites me, I recommend it for people who want excitement, adventure, fantasy & magic. if it had given me the number of ten stars i would press that many because its so good!

5 stars

Reviewed by Kimberly from Tawa, 10 years old