New Year; New Books! Are you making the most of your Library these holidays?

These awesome new kids books have just hit the shelves at your local library!

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsHow to Raise your Grown-ups by Lauren Child

The Bobton-Trent seniors certainly know how to make the most of their extravagant wealth – socialising, doing things, buying things and generally being more than a little bit … irresponsible… Luckily for them, their son Hubert Horatio is an exceptionally intelligent, talented and sensible child. Unluckily for Hubert, this tends to mean that a lot of his spare time is spent steering his rather unruly set of grown-ups out of trouble.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsYou don’t know everything Jilly P! by Alex Gino

When her new baby sister is born deaf, Jilly makes an online connection with a fellow fantasy fan, who happens to be black and deaf, and begins to learn about the many obstacles that exist in the world for people who are different from her


Image courtesy of SyndeticsNo fixed address by Susin Nielsen

Twelve-year-old Felix’s appearance on a television game show reveals that he and his mother have been homeless for a while, but also restores some of his faith in other people.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsDown with the Crims by Kate Davies

The Addams Family meets Despicable Me in the first book of this new trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch!


Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe once and future geek Camelot Code; bk 1 by Mari Mancusi

When thirteen-year-old Arthur of Gal, the future King Arthur, accidentally time-travels to the twenty-first century, Sophie Sawyer, twelve, must convince him to return and correct the time line.

Kids’ Club Review by Molly Morgan: Hello, universe

Hello, universeHello, universe, Erin Entrada Kelly

This book is about a boy called Virgil.. A bully called Chet throws his Guinea pig into a well. He goes into the well to rescue his pet but gets stuck. Virgil’s friends try to rescue him. The adventure starts from here. I really enjoyed reading this book because it was engaging and had nice ending. Children 8+ would also like this book.

5 stars

Reviewed by Molly Morgan from Karori and Karori Normal School , 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by samuel: Dragon rider

Dragon riderDragon rider, written and illustrated by Cornelia Funke ; [translation by Anthea Bell]

An interesting book full of close calls, traps, friends and survival. I recommend this book for people who can stand extreme suspense.

5 stars

Reviewed by samuel from Miramar and Seatoun School , 10 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Anna: Hello, universe

Hello, universeHello, universe, Erin Entrada Kelly

Hello Universe is about Virgil, Valencia, Chet, and Kaori. They actually are not friends but when Chet does a really mean prank on Virgil by throwing his pet Guinea pig down the well, Virgil gets stuck in the well trying to save it., Valencia, Kaori, and naughty Chet have to get him out and their lives change.Is this a coincidence? I enjoyed this book as it has a good plot and was really interesting. It took me a while to get into the book but once I had read a chapter, I thought it was great.

5 stars

Reviewed by Anna from Karori and Karori Normal School , 9 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Meredith: How to bee

How to beeHow to bee, Bren MacDibble

I really loved this book. It is about a girl called Peony who really wants to be a bee. It is in the future and all the bees are extinct, so they have to use people. Peony lives in a shed on the farm run by the Foreman. Peony’s mother works in the city and wants Peony to come with her. One day Peony is taken to the city. Can she escape?

In the first 2 chapters I had trouble understanding how she talks and some bits were a bit scary.
I would advise 9+to anyone who wants to read it. Peony is a brave character and in reading the book she makes you feel braver.

The book is a mix of Adventure, Love and Friendship.

5 stars

Reviewed by Meredith from Central City and St Mark’s Church School , 9 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Meredith: Wakestone Hall

Wakestone HallWakestone Hall, by Judith Rossell

I thought this book was absolutely excellent. The main character is Stella Montgomery. The book is the last in a series of three. The whole series is great. In Wakestone Hall Stella is sent to boarding school. She meets two girls and they all become friends, the grumpy Agapanthus and the timid Ottolie. But then one day one of her friends goes missing. As mysteries unfold will Stella be able to save her friends from the nefarious villain?
I really like the book because it is a mix of… mystery, adventure and friendship.
Some bits in this book are a bit scary. I would advise readers who are 8+ to read this book.

5 stars

Reviewed by Meredith from Central City and St Mark’s Church School , 9 years old

Reward yourself with these fantastic new kids fiction books

Not so normal Norbert by James PattersonImage courtesy of Syndetics

Normal Riddle lives in the United State of Earth, where normal means following the rules, never standing out and being exactly the same as everyone else. He’s been normal his whole life – until a moment of temporary hilarity when he does a funny impression of the country’s dictator and gets caught. Now Norbert’s been banished to the Astronuts Camp on planet Zorquat 3, where kids who defy the rules are exiled forever. He’s been taught his whole life that different is wrong, but everyone at Astronuts seems crazy creative, or are they just plain crazy?


Image courtesy of SyndeticsWar is Over by David Almond

It’s 1918, and war is everywhere. John’s dad is fighting in the trenches far away in France. His mum works in the munitions factory just along the road. His teacher says that John is fighting, too, that he is at war with enemy children in Germany. One day, in the wild woods outside town, John has an impossible moment: a meeting with a German boy named Jan. John catches a glimpse of a better world, in which children like Jan and himself can come together, and scatter the seeds of peace. Gorgeously illustrated by David Litchfield, this is a book to treasure.


Sea; Huntress Trilogy #1 by Sarah DriverImage courtesy of Syndetics

‘In the sky, the fire spirits dance and ripple. Grandma says they showed our Tribe that I’d be a captain, before I was even born. Ever since Ma died, Mouse has looked after her little brother, Sparrow, dreaming of her destiny as captain of the Huntress. But now Da’s missing, Sparrow is in danger, and a deathly cold is creeping across Trianukka. Sea-churning, beast-chattering, dream-dancing, whale-riding, terrodyl-flying, world-saving adventure”–Publisher’s description.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe case of the left handed Lady by Nancy Springer

Pursued by her much older brother, famed detective Sherlock Holmes, fourteen-year-old Enola, disguised and using false names, attempts to solve the kidnapping of a baronet’s sixteen-year-old daughter in nineteenth-century London.


The Slightly alarming tale of the Whispering Wars by Jaclyn Moriarty

I was taken by Whisperers at 2pm, so I never pulled the lever for the laundry chute. That’s what bothered me most. This is way ahead in the story, though. A lot happened before that. The town of Spindrift is frequented by pirates, Shadow Mages and charlatans. It’s also home to the Orphanage School, where Finlay lives with Glim, Taya and Eli. Just outside town is the painfully posh Brathelthwaite Boarding School, home to Honey Bee, Hamish and Victor, Duke of Ainsley. When the two schools compete at the Spindrift Tournament, stakes are high, tensions are higher, and some people are out to win at any cost. Before long, the orphans and the boarding school are in an all-out war. And then Whispering Wars break out, and Spindrift is thrust onto the front lines. Children are being stolen, Witches, Sirens and a deadly magical flu invade the town, and all attempts to fight back are met with defeat. Finlay, Honey Bee and their friends must join forces to outwit the encroaching forces of darkness, rescue the stolen children, and turn the tide of the war. But how can one bickering troupe outwit the insidious power of the Whisperers? And who are the two mysterious figures watching them from the shadows?