Kids’ Club Review by Molly: The storm keeper’s island

Syndetics book coverThe storm keeper’s island by Catherine Doyle.

For the summer, Fionn and his sister Tara are staying on Arranmore island with their strange grandfather who is a storm keeper. It is almost time for a new storm keeper, and Bartley Beasley is convinced that he should be the next storm keeper. He will stop at nothing. Also, who is the strange man who calls himself Ivan? I really enjoyed this book because it was exciting. I recommend it to children 9+.

5 stars

Reviewed by Molly  from Karori and Karori Normal School , 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Millie: Northern lights

Northern lightsNorthern lights, Philip Pullman

Amazing! This book is about a girl named Lyra who when spying on her uncle, Lord Asriel she finds out about Dust, North Pole and the Aurora she wants to leave Jordan Collage to go with her uncle to the North Pole. Her uncle says she can’t go but when a woman with a golden monkey says she is going to the North Pole and she would like to take Lyra with her. Lyra’s life changes for ever. I would recommend this book to 10-14 year olds.

5 stars

Reviewed by Millie from Island Bay and South Wellington Intermediate , 12 years old

New Year; New Books! Are you making the most of your Library these holidays?

These awesome new kids books have just hit the shelves at your local library!

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsHow to Raise your Grown-ups by Lauren Child

The Bobton-Trent seniors certainly know how to make the most of their extravagant wealth – socialising, doing things, buying things and generally being more than a little bit … irresponsible… Luckily for them, their son Hubert Horatio is an exceptionally intelligent, talented and sensible child. Unluckily for Hubert, this tends to mean that a lot of his spare time is spent steering his rather unruly set of grown-ups out of trouble.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsYou don’t know everything Jilly P! by Alex Gino

When her new baby sister is born deaf, Jilly makes an online connection with a fellow fantasy fan, who happens to be black and deaf, and begins to learn about the many obstacles that exist in the world for people who are different from her


Image courtesy of SyndeticsNo fixed address by Susin Nielsen

Twelve-year-old Felix’s appearance on a television game show reveals that he and his mother have been homeless for a while, but also restores some of his faith in other people.


Image courtesy of SyndeticsDown with the Crims by Kate Davies

The Addams Family meets Despicable Me in the first book of this new trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch!


Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe once and future geek Camelot Code; bk 1 by Mari Mancusi

When thirteen-year-old Arthur of Gal, the future King Arthur, accidentally time-travels to the twenty-first century, Sophie Sawyer, twelve, must convince him to return and correct the time line.

Kids’ Club Review by Meredith: The extremely inconvenient adventures of Bronte Mettlestone

The extremely inconvenient adventures of Bronte MettlestoneThe extremely inconvenient adventures of Bronte Mettlestone, Jaclyn Moriarty ; illustrated by Kelly Canby,

I think that this book is an excellent read, full of adventure and imagination. Bronte has a crazy number of aunts (10 to be exact) and when she receives a telegram to say that her parents were killed by canon fire from the pirate ship the Thistleskull, she is thrown headlong into an absolutely crazy adventure where she must visit all her many aunts. All the adventures, as in the title, are quite inconvenient for Bronte as she has to follow a series of tasks to give gifts to her aunts.
I liked this book because it was full of humour and Bronte was very funny. I wish Bronte was real so I could meet her one day. She is quirky and would have lots to say about everything. I recommend this book for 7+. Bronte is also in an equally great sequel, the Slightly Alarming Tales of the Whispering Wars.

5 stars

Reviewed by Meredith from Central City and St Mark’s Church School , 9 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Molly: No stars to wish on

No stars to wish onNo stars to wish on, Zana Fraillon

No Stars to Wish on is about a boy called Jack who is accidentally put in an orphanage and given the name 49. He is trying to work out who is the actual 49 and also how to get back home. This is a lovely book to read. Children 9+ would love it too.

5 stars

Reviewed by Molly from Karori and Karori Normal School , 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Molly: One Christmas wish

One Christmas wishOne Christmas wish, Katherine Rundell ; illustrated by Emily Sutton

One Christmas Wish is a beautiful Christmas story about a boy who wishes on what he thinks is a shooting star that he has friends. His wish comes true and some Christmas decorations come alive and they go on an adventure through the town. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The story was very sweet and made you feel good inside.

4 stars

Reviewed by Molly from Karori and Karori Normal School , 11 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Sunshine: The adventures of Nanny Piggins

The adventures of Nanny PigginsThe adventures of Nanny Piggins, R.A. Spratt

The adventures of Nanny Piggins is a really good book because it’s really funny.
My favorite part of the book is when Nanny Piggins snatches her pie from the judges,screaming it’s mine ,it’s mine. I think this book is suitable for age 7-10 because there are some hard words in the book.

5 stars

Reviewed by Sunshine from Karori and Karori West Normal School , 9 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Anna: No stars to wish on

No stars to wish onNo stars to wish on, Zana Fraillon

This book is about a boy called Jack. He gets kidnapped and ends up living with nuns. He is known there as Number 49 but he is not an orphan like they all think. Will he manage to get home? This was a fantastic book. It had a strong plot and you wanted to finish the book to know how it ended.

5 stars

Reviewed by Anna from Karori and Karori Normal School , 9 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Dan: Angry Cookie

Angry CookieAngry Cookie, Laura Dockrill, Maria Karipidou

i liked that he was angry then happy.and that people laughed at him.and i liked the illustrations.and i would recommend it to ages 2-10

4 stars

Reviewed by Dan from Cummings Park and Amesbury School , 8 years old