Kids’ Club Review by Luis: Where the wild things are

Where the wild things are, by Maurice Sendak

This book is about a kid who had an outfit that was a wolf His mother told him to stay in his room for two years then his room turned into a forest. He rode a boat then he was the king of the wild things. At the end bit his mum made him supper then he did not know that his supper was still hot. I like this book because he was the king of the forest and all of the wild things were scared of him. In the middle of this book there were only pictures.

5 stars

Reviewed by Luis from Tawa, 7 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Delta: Tales of Toyland

Tales of Toyland, by Enid Blyton

My favorite character is Tiptoe. I like Tiptoe because she stands up for others and helps people in need. The best bit in the book was when Jolly made friends with Tiptoe. Tiptoe got her name because she stands on her tiptoes. I think boys and girls would both enjoy this book. Kids who are 7 to 10 years old could read the book. Tales of Toyland is unique!!! I give this four stars out of five!

4 stars

Reviewed by Delta from Tawa, 7 years old

Kids’ Club Review by jennifer: The looking glass girl

The looking glass girl, by Cathy Cassidy (1962-)

This book was just really amazing its sad when Yaz and Lainy dich Alice and make friends with Erin and Savvy it nice when Luca kisses Alice on the tire swing at Savvy’s sleepover and I like how Lainy who was being really mean to Alice was with her when Alice came back from wonder land

5 stars

Reviewed by jennifer from Brooklyn, 10 years old

Some great new kids fiction to read these school holidays!

Yay!!! It’s the School Holidays! So stock your reading shelf with these fab new books available at your local Library!

 

Image courtesy of Syndetics

The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage ; The Find-Outers #1, by Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. Someone has set fire to Mr Hick’s cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it’s not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to “clear orf”. The Find-Outers are determined – they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does! First published in 1943, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

 

 

The Stinky Truth by Joe Berger

It’s the school holidays and Sam and his best friend can’t wait to see Cry Wolfe, the first movie starring their favourite crime-fighting hero. But Sam’s mum has set him a challenge. He can only go and see the movie IF, and only if, he can make it through the entire holiday without telling a single fib. Can Sam go six whole weeks, without a single porky!? WARNING: contains fibs, farts and zumba-dancing mums.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsDark Tricks by Linda Chapman

Do you believe in magic? Sita and her friends do! When they meet the Star Animals, a whole world of adventure unfolds. Sita and her star animal, a deer called Willow, must use their special powers to stop the forces of dark magic. As the Star Friends’ ability to use their magic gets stronger, the forces of dark magic working against them become more intense, too. But the person using dark magic is taking risks – can the girls find out who their enemy is, and confront them once and for all?

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe New Kid:  Unpopular me by James O’Loghlin

“New kids aren’t cool. Everyone knows that. Eleven-year-old Sam is the new kid at school but he has a plan, or two, or three to make himself the Most popular kid ever. What you are about to read is unforgettable (frog underpants, lonely losers, human umbrellas, bad boys…). It’s bumpy (jumping out a window is never a good idea). It’s the story of kid who wants to be more.”–Back cover.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsGreta Zargo and the Amoeba Monsters from the middle of the earth by A.F. Harold

Greta doesn’t know it, but weird wobbling monsters are devouring her neighbours one by one. But right now Greta’a busy trying to find her aunt, who’s gone mysteriously missing… — Adapted from back cover.

Kids’ Club Review by Genevye: The naughtiest girl in the school

The naughtiest girl in the school, by Enid Blyton

It was amazing! It’s about a spoilt and selfish girl called Elizabeth Allen and she gets sent to boarding school because her babysitter needs to go to a new family and her mum and dad were going somewhere. Elizabeth whines and tries to make her mum change her mind, but it doesn’t work. When she gets there she already planned that she would be naughty and selfish so she can get sent home. Then a monitor called Rita ,who is very kind, says to Elizabeth to be nice and be friends with a lonely girl called Joan. They become friends, and Elizabeth never even thought about being rude, lots of other things happen, but it’s really amazing. Come on…. you know you want to read it.!

5 stars

Reviewed by Genevye from Johnsonville, 7 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Tulip: The giant jam sandwich

The giant jam sandwich, by John Vernon Lord and Janet Burroway

 

It was a very creative and hooking book. ATTACK! wasps, scary, fat, wasps. How could we trap them? Is there a way? Maybe there is . ……. Maybe something with jam and a sandwich…….. Who Knows???????……….

4 stars

Reviewed by Tulip from Newtown, 12 years old