8 New Non Fiction to read during the holidays!

Kia ora koutou tamarikima!

The school holidays are almost over (Boo!). Cheer up though; we have some new amazing non fiction that you must get your hands on and read before the holidays are over. Books about cooking with pokemon, outstanding world breaking records and there the world of space, animals and records collides.

Enjoy!

image courtesy of sydneticsPlanet Awesome.

In this hilarious and informative book filled to the brim with eye-opening, kid-friendly facts about our planet, you’ll find scientifically accurate information from beloved children’s book author Stacy McAnulty and vibrant art by award-winning illustrator David Litchfield.

 

image courtesy fo syndeticsThe Pokémon cookbook : easy and fun recipes.

Create delicious dishes – from desserts to pizza- that look like your favourite Pokémon characters with more than 35 easy recipes. One pokemon book you must catch!

 

 

 

image courtesy of syndeticsRecord Breakers!

Check out the latest Record Breakers, where you will read all about  the first, fastest, longest, largest, biggest, and best records in the world. One book you must get your hands on these school holidays.

 

 

 

image courtesy fo syndeticsFootball record breakers : goal scorers! trophy winners! football legends!

From the biggest leagues to the most exciting cup tournaments, football’s record-breaking stars are here. This book is packed with thousands of eye-popping stats about incredible trophy-winning teams and legendary goal scorers from around the globe, and contains all the need-to-know facts and figures from the 2016-2017 league seasons around the world.

 

image courtesy of syndeticsA cat’s guide to the night sky.

Cats and astronomy are combined in this beautiful book where you will join Felicity the cat on a discovery of the night sky. You will learn about the phases of the moon, the constellations and how to spot the Northern Lights and the Milky Way. This beautiful, fun book will introduce you to the beauty of the night sky and show you the stars like you’ve never seen them before. A librarians choice all the way!

 

image courtesy of sydneticsPredators.

Check out iExplore Predators and Extinct Animals, where you will learn is the most ferocious animals on earth, as well as bring them back to life  with the use of augmented reality. You will get to learn about these animals  learn and be entertained for hours on end. Good to have on hand for a rainy day.

 

image courtesy of syndeticsRobot : meet the machines of the future.

The robots are here at the library, in the form of this amazing book! “From giant fighting robots to nanobots that can work inside the human body, this book explores the latest technology transforming out world. The robot revolution is here to stay!”–Publisher’s description. Contains information about popular and famous robots, such as PARO, as robotic seal designed for pet therapy, bionic kangaroos, social robot called  Pepper and you even get to learn more about our very own humanoid NAO robots, Blue and Red! Another librarians choice all the way!

Kids’ Club Review by Luis: Little penguins

Little penguins, by Cynthia Rylant

I like this book because it was winter. This is about penguins in the snow they go deeper and deeper. My favorite part is when they are in the house because the penguins were so cute.

5 stars

Reviewed by Luis from Tawa, 7 years old

Some great new kids fiction to read these school holidays!

Yay!!! It’s the School Holidays! So stock your reading shelf with these fab new books available at your local Library!

 

Image courtesy of Syndetics

The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage ; The Find-Outers #1, by Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. Someone has set fire to Mr Hick’s cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it’s not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to “clear orf”. The Find-Outers are determined – they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does! First published in 1943, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

 

 

The Stinky Truth by Joe Berger

It’s the school holidays and Sam and his best friend can’t wait to see Cry Wolfe, the first movie starring their favourite crime-fighting hero. But Sam’s mum has set him a challenge. He can only go and see the movie IF, and only if, he can make it through the entire holiday without telling a single fib. Can Sam go six whole weeks, without a single porky!? WARNING: contains fibs, farts and zumba-dancing mums.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsDark Tricks by Linda Chapman

Do you believe in magic? Sita and her friends do! When they meet the Star Animals, a whole world of adventure unfolds. Sita and her star animal, a deer called Willow, must use their special powers to stop the forces of dark magic. As the Star Friends’ ability to use their magic gets stronger, the forces of dark magic working against them become more intense, too. But the person using dark magic is taking risks – can the girls find out who their enemy is, and confront them once and for all?

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe New Kid:  Unpopular me by James O’Loghlin

“New kids aren’t cool. Everyone knows that. Eleven-year-old Sam is the new kid at school but he has a plan, or two, or three to make himself the Most popular kid ever. What you are about to read is unforgettable (frog underpants, lonely losers, human umbrellas, bad boys…). It’s bumpy (jumping out a window is never a good idea). It’s the story of kid who wants to be more.”–Back cover.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsGreta Zargo and the Amoeba Monsters from the middle of the earth by A.F. Harold

Greta doesn’t know it, but weird wobbling monsters are devouring her neighbours one by one. But right now Greta’a busy trying to find her aunt, who’s gone mysteriously missing… — Adapted from back cover.

Kids’ Club Review by Shreya: Ella and Olivia: Zoo Rescue

Ella and Olivia: Zoo Rescue, by Yvette Poshoglian

I give this book 4 stars because it is telling us about that everyone has a different likes and dislikes not everyone likes the same things because some people might like it or some people do not like it,It depends on the things that they chose and you always do not need to copy your friend or anyone else just think about it by yourself .

4 stars

Reviewed by Shreya from Central City, 9 years old

Kids’ Club Review by Cardi: Pet Show Prize

Pet Show Prize, by Rosie Banks

I loved this book. Summer, Ellie, Jasmine and Trixi are this time off to Featherly Farm! But Queen Malice (the king of secret kingdom nasty sister) has stolen the girls talents! She tricked them into putting on ” friendship bracelets” that stole the talents. (see story Sparkle Statue to find out more). Ellie and Jasmine’s talents have been rescued, (see Sparkle Statue and Melody Medal) but Summer and Trixi’s talents are still missing! ( read this book and Twinkle Trophy). In this book, they get Summer’s talent back. Find out more in Pet Show Prize.

5 stars

Reviewed by Cardi from Brooklyn, 7 years old

New kids chapter books for you to try!

Here’s 5 great new kids fiction books from your Library to help get you through these chilly winter days!!!

Image courtesy of SyndeticsBad Mermaids by Sibeal Pounder

Mermaids Beattie, Mimi and Zelda are enjoying a summer on land with legs when they receive a strange CRABAGRAM ordering them to return home at once. Some seriously BAD MERMAIDS are on the loose and the girls are the only ones who can stop them. If they’re going to save the day, they’ll need answers. And a clam car. Definitely piranha-print nail polish. Possibly not the talking seahorse. CAN THEY DO IT? Filled with magical mysteries, fabulous fashion, and a serious piranha problem, Bad Mermaids brings a whole new twist to the underwater world of mermaids. Ages 9+

 

Below Zero by Dan SmithImage courtesy of Syndetics

When Zak’s plane crash-lands on Outpost Zero, a small Antarctic research base in one of the most isolated places on Earth, he discovers a cold, dark nightmare. The power’s out and the people who live there have disappeared. Worse, as he searches for answers, bizarre visions suggest a link to something else – deep beneath the ice – which only he can understand.

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsBattlefront by Michael Adams

One hero lost in a raging tsunami. One sign pointing to a deadly battle. One day left until the end of… everything. (taken from back book cover)

 

 

 

 

Astrid the Unstoppable by Maria ParrImage courtesy of Syndetics

“Astrid Glimmerdal loves to spend her days racing down the mountainside on her sledge and skis – the faster the better! She just wishes there were other children to share in her adventures. Instead, she has to put up with a grumpy 74 year old for a best friend (although secretly, she knows she wouldn’t have it any other way). Astrid’s world is about to be turned upside down, however, first by the arrival of a strange family, and then a mystery woman. Her best friend, Gunnvald, has been keeping a secret from her – one that will test their friendship to its limits. Everything is changing in Astrid’s world and she’s not happy about it. Luckily, she has a plan…A feisty and irrepressible heroine, Astrid is sure to charm readers in this modern classic in the making.” –Publisher description.

 

 

Get Ready to Run; Chase #1  by Linwood BarclayImage courtesy of Syndetics

Chipper is a very special dog. As part of a top-secret, multi-million dollar experiment to create the ultimate canine spy technology, Chipper’s whole life has been spent within the walls of a secret organization known only as The Institute. Chipper is supposed to be more machine than mutt, but something’s wrong and The Institute knows it. He’s about to be terminated. Across the state, twelve-year-old orphan Jeff Conway is working all hours at his aunt Flo’s lakeside cabin business. He misses his parents, his old life, and the dog he had to leave behind. When Chipper escapes and Jeff finds himself part of the chase, The Institute’s most ruthless agent is hot on their tail, and he wants Chipper dead … at any cost.

 

Kids’ Club Review by Nashe: Hotdog!

Hotdog!, by Anh Do

Hot dog by Ah do I really like this book because it is so funny when hot dog and his friends think that a duck was its mama . I think this book is a good book to read because it has some funny bits in it I love this book very much . This book is cool I like it The End

5 stars

Reviewed by Nashe from Tawa, 8 years old