Kids’ Club Review by Kohaya: Mortal Engines

Mortal Engines, by Phillip Reeve

Wow! I am still blown away by this AWESOME story.
It is set in the future (roughly the 41 century), and is about a young, lonely third class historian apprentice (Tom) who gets betrayed by his hero: Valentine. Thrown out onto “bare earth” he finds a girl called Hester Shaw. Forced to survive whit nothing but their wits, the unlikely pair have all sorts of (CRAZY!!) adventures.
NOW: Before you read this, be warned: this is a very violent & tragic tale.
Go on and read it… It is calling you . . .

5 stars

Reviewed by Kohaya from Brooklyn, 9 years old

Kids’ Club Review by jennifer: The Burning Bridge

The Burning Bridge, by John Flanagan

it was a rally good it had lots of adventure it was scary when will is on the bridge when it is going to fall and it was really sad when halt was running after the boat and he yells to will I will find you I promise

5 stars

Reviewed by jennifer from Brooklyn, 10 years old

Some great new kids fiction to read these school holidays!

Yay!!! It’s the School Holidays! So stock your reading shelf with these fab new books available at your local Library!

 

Image courtesy of Syndetics

The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage ; The Find-Outers #1, by Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. Someone has set fire to Mr Hick’s cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it’s not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to “clear orf”. The Find-Outers are determined – they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does! First published in 1943, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

 

 

The Stinky Truth by Joe Berger

It’s the school holidays and Sam and his best friend can’t wait to see Cry Wolfe, the first movie starring their favourite crime-fighting hero. But Sam’s mum has set him a challenge. He can only go and see the movie IF, and only if, he can make it through the entire holiday without telling a single fib. Can Sam go six whole weeks, without a single porky!? WARNING: contains fibs, farts and zumba-dancing mums.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsDark Tricks by Linda Chapman

Do you believe in magic? Sita and her friends do! When they meet the Star Animals, a whole world of adventure unfolds. Sita and her star animal, a deer called Willow, must use their special powers to stop the forces of dark magic. As the Star Friends’ ability to use their magic gets stronger, the forces of dark magic working against them become more intense, too. But the person using dark magic is taking risks – can the girls find out who their enemy is, and confront them once and for all?

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe New Kid:  Unpopular me by James O’Loghlin

“New kids aren’t cool. Everyone knows that. Eleven-year-old Sam is the new kid at school but he has a plan, or two, or three to make himself the Most popular kid ever. What you are about to read is unforgettable (frog underpants, lonely losers, human umbrellas, bad boys…). It’s bumpy (jumping out a window is never a good idea). It’s the story of kid who wants to be more.”–Back cover.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsGreta Zargo and the Amoeba Monsters from the middle of the earth by A.F. Harold

Greta doesn’t know it, but weird wobbling monsters are devouring her neighbours one by one. But right now Greta’a busy trying to find her aunt, who’s gone mysteriously missing… — Adapted from back cover.

Kids’ Club Review by Kohaya: Crooked Sixpence

Crooked Sixpence, by Jennifer Bell

All of us know that a yo-yo is a yo-yo. or not. When 12 year old Ivy Sparrow and the 14 year old brother, Seb stumble upon across the extraordinary world of Lundinor, they uncover a family secret that involves an evil gang. Soon enough Ivy & Seb embark on an adventure that, not only endanger themselves but all of humankind . . .

5 stars

Reviewed by Kohaya from Brooklyn, 9 years old

6 New Non Fiction

Hey kids!

Check more and amazing new junior non fiction books added to the children’s collection at Wellington City Libraries! Check out great books on history, exploring, outdoor adventures and a classic fairy tale retold.

Enjoy!

 

image courtesy of syndeticsMeet the Ancient Egyptians.

With vibrant artwork and snappy text, learning about Ancient Egypt has never been cooler! Get to know the basics on from gods and worship to mummification, with easy, humorous text that is reminiscent of the best-selling Horrible Histories series. James Davies’ stunning artwork and infographics provide a fresh non-fiction approach. Age 6+.

 

image courtesy of syndetics

Also check out Meet the Ancient Romans and get to know the ancient Romans and history in this bright and snappy series. A great way to learn and have a laugh at the same time.

 

 

 

 

image courtesy of syndeticsUltimate explorer guide : explore, discover, and create your own adventures with real National Geographic explorers as your guides.

Filled with in depth information and inspiration, this book will take you on a daring adventure through the land, sea and ski. A great handbook for budding explorers looking for an adventure.

 

 

image courtesy of syndeticsThe New Zealand Wars.

“The story of the 19th century New Zealand Wars, a part of New Zealand’s history that many people wish they knew more about. The book describes how the wars came about, where and when they were fought, who was involved, and how they affected women and children. It explains the emergence of Kīngitanga or Māori King movement, the land confiscations and the story of Parihaka. Other chapters look at war memorials, graves and monuments, the work of the Waitangi Tribunal, how the wars have featured in New Zealand art, music and literature, and how they are being remembered today, including new ways of working towards understanding and reconciliation. The story is told in an accessible way full of fascinating detail, eye-witness accounts, illustrations and little known facts, with lists of websites, resources and books for those who want to discover more.”–Publisher description.

 

image courtesy of syndeticsSnowWhite and the seven dwarfs : a tale from the Brothers Grimm.

This book retells the classic fairy tale of Snow White and the seven dwarfs. Overall a beautifully retold tale with stunning and captivating illustrations. A librarian’s choice all the way!

 

 

 

image courtesy of syndetics101 fun outdoor activities for children : have fun outside!

The pillars of play, explore, learn and arts and crafts come together in 101 outdoor activities for children. Take a journey in the great outdoors with this amazing book filled with 101 activities that will keep you busy from dawn until dusk.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kids’ Club Review by Abi: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan

 

It all started when monsters started attacking him from all sides, he was accused of stealing Zeus’s master bolt from Olympus. What was he going to do? find out by reading Percy Jackson and the Olympians The lightning Thief.

5 stars

Reviewed by Abi from Kilbirnie, 9 years old