Chinese Storytime at Johnsonville Library!

Come and join us for a fun and interactive Mandarin Storytime with Chinese stories, songs and rhymes.

Children and care-givers who speak Mandarin, or use Mandarin as a second language will love these sessions.

Our next Chinese Storytime will be held at Johnsonville Library on:

Friday 16th November at 10.30am and will continue on the third Friday of each month.

This is a free event aimed for pre-schoolers through to 10 years but all are welcome

Session will run for 30 minutes.

欢迎加入Johnsonville 图书馆中文故事,儿歌活动

时间是每个月的第三个星期五上午10.30-11 点 地点是约翰逊图书馆 电话04-4776151

Chinese Storytime at Johnsonville Library!

Come and join us for a fun and interactive Mandarin Storytime with Chinese stories, songs and rhymes.

Children and care-givers who speak Mandarin, or use Mandarin as a second language will love these sessions.

Our next Chinese Storytime will be held at Johnsonville Library on:

Friday 19th October at 10.30am and will continue on the third Friday of each month.

This is a free event aimed for pre-schoolers through to 10 years but all are welcome

Session will run for 30 minutes.

欢迎加入Johnsonville 图书馆中文故事,儿歌活动

时间是每个月的第三个星期五上午10.30-11 点 地点是约翰逊图书馆 电话04-4776151

Chinese Storytime at Johnsonville Library!

Come and join us for a fun and interactive Mandarin Storytime with Chinese stories, songs and rhymes.

Children and care-givers who speak Mandarin, or use Mandarin as a second language will love these sessions.

Our next Chinese Storytime will be held at Johnsonville Library on:

Friday 21st September at 10.30am and will continue on the third Friday of each month.

This is a free event aimed for pre-schoolers through to 10 years but all are welcome

Session will run for 30 minutes.

欢迎加入Johnsonville 图书馆中文故事,儿歌活动

时间是每个月的第三个星期五上午10.30-11 点 地点是约翰逊图书馆 电话04-4776151

Bee Aware Month!

September is Bee Awareness month and this year Apiculture New Zealand are focusing on bee health by educating us on how we can feed the bees and help protect our precious bee population.

Did you know that bees support New Zealand’s agri-industry exports by over $5 billion annually – that is heaps! Plus they help grow one third of all the food we eat as well as helping our gardens flourish and look beautiful.

There is heaps that we can do to help out our little buzzing friends and one of the easiest way is by planting bee friendly plants and flowers. Bees need food so that they can help pollinate the food we eat. Bees will feed on pollen and nectar and this helps them to grow and Bee strong which helps them to fight off disease and parasites.

Bees also need clean water so why not make a shallow container for them to drink from. Just make sure you put pebbles and twigs in the water so the bees have something to rest on while they are drinking.

Another way we can help the bees is to stop spraying our gardens with harmful pesticides which kill the bees.

Palmers Garden Centre who are supporting Bee Awareness Month have information and competitions on their website plus check out their 5 top tips for a bee friendly backyard.

The library also has heaps of books on bees so take a look and… Lets save our bees!

Stories @ Six at Tawa Library

Join us on Thursday 6th September at 6pm for our next Stories @ Six session at Tawa Library.

This month we welcome Liz Langham who will be sharing stories all about Spring.

Wear your PJ’s and bring along your teddies!!!

Tawa Library is open until 8pm on Thursday so plenty of time to issue books afterwards.

This is a free event suitable for all the family to enjoy with sessions running for around 30 minutes

Stories @ Six at Tawa Library

Join us on Thursday 2nd August at 6pm for our next Stories @ Six session at Tawa Library.

This month our session will be filled with wonderful doggie tales.

Wear your PJ’s and bring along your teddies!!!

Tawa Library is open until 8pm on Thursday so plenty of time to issue books afterwards.

This is a free event suitable for all the family to enjoy with sessions running for around 30 minutes. 

Some great new kids fiction to read these school holidays!

Yay!!! It’s the School Holidays! So stock your reading shelf with these fab new books available at your local Library!

 

Image courtesy of Syndetics

The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage ; The Find-Outers #1, by Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. Someone has set fire to Mr Hick’s cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it’s not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to “clear orf”. The Find-Outers are determined – they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does! First published in 1943, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

 

 

The Stinky Truth by Joe Berger

It’s the school holidays and Sam and his best friend can’t wait to see Cry Wolfe, the first movie starring their favourite crime-fighting hero. But Sam’s mum has set him a challenge. He can only go and see the movie IF, and only if, he can make it through the entire holiday without telling a single fib. Can Sam go six whole weeks, without a single porky!? WARNING: contains fibs, farts and zumba-dancing mums.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsDark Tricks by Linda Chapman

Do you believe in magic? Sita and her friends do! When they meet the Star Animals, a whole world of adventure unfolds. Sita and her star animal, a deer called Willow, must use their special powers to stop the forces of dark magic. As the Star Friends’ ability to use their magic gets stronger, the forces of dark magic working against them become more intense, too. But the person using dark magic is taking risks – can the girls find out who their enemy is, and confront them once and for all?

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsThe New Kid:  Unpopular me by James O’Loghlin

“New kids aren’t cool. Everyone knows that. Eleven-year-old Sam is the new kid at school but he has a plan, or two, or three to make himself the Most popular kid ever. What you are about to read is unforgettable (frog underpants, lonely losers, human umbrellas, bad boys…). It’s bumpy (jumping out a window is never a good idea). It’s the story of kid who wants to be more.”–Back cover.

 

 

Image courtesy of SyndeticsGreta Zargo and the Amoeba Monsters from the middle of the earth by A.F. Harold

Greta doesn’t know it, but weird wobbling monsters are devouring her neighbours one by one. But right now Greta’a busy trying to find her aunt, who’s gone mysteriously missing… — Adapted from back cover.

International Asteroid Day

Did you know that there is an International Asteroid Day?

Asteroid Day aims to raise awareness about asteroids and what can be done to protect the Earth, its families, communities and future generations from a catastrophic event.

It was co-founded in 2014  by Dr. Brian May an astrophysicist and rock legend, Danica Remy  president of B612 FoundationRusty Schweickart an astronaut and Grig Richters a German filmmaker.

Following on from this the United Nations General Assembly officially declared June 30th each year as the International Asteroid Day.

June 30 was chosen because it marks Earth’s largest asteroid impact in recorded history, the Siberia Tunguska event, which occurred on the 30 June 1908 and devastated over 2,000 km2 of forest, an area the size of any major city today.

A declaration was created called the 100X Declaration where scientist and technologist who support the idea of saving the earth from asteroids were asked to sign. But the really cool thing is that everyone has the opportunity to sign. To date the 100X Declaration has been signed by more that 22,000 private citizens.

There is heaps of information, resources, movies, videos, fun stuff plus the countdown until June 30 on the official International Asteroid Day website so check it out. And don’t forget we also have lots of information and books in the library.

 

 

 

 

Chinese Storytime at Johnsonville Library!

Come and join us for a fun and interactive Mandarin Storytime with Chinese stories, songs and rhymes.

Children and care-givers who speak Mandarin, or use Mandarin as a second language will love these sessions.

Our next Chinese Storytime will be held at Johnsonville Library on:

Friday 15th June at 10.30am and will continue on the third Friday of each month.

This is a free event aimed for pre-schoolers through to 10 years but all are welcome

Session will run for 30 minutes.

欢迎加入Johnsonville 图书馆中文故事,儿歌活动

时间是每个月的第三个星期五上午10.30-11 点 地点是约翰逊图书馆 电话04-4776151

Cosy Winter Reads

It’s that time of year again when all you might want to do is to curl up into a ball in a comfy chair with a good book. Here are some great winter reads to warm your heart and explore new worlds under the comfort of your blanket.

 

Picture books:

Cold paws, warm heart, by Madeleine Floyd – A young girl forms a friendship with a lonely polar bear in this sweet story set in the North Pole.

 

 

 

 

Over and under the snow, by Kate Messner – Both educational and enchanting, this book gives you a sneak peek into a “secret kingdom under the snow” where animals big and small keep warm through the season, just out of sight from people walking by.

 

 

 

 

Chapter books:

Ant and Honey Bee: A Pair of Friends in Winter, by Megan McDonald – From the author of the Judy Moody series comes a clever tale about a pair of insects with different personalities who aren’t quite ready to part ways when it’s time to hibernate.

 

 

 

Winter magic – an enchanting collection of stories from award-winning authors, edited by Abi Elphinstone – An anthology of tales featuring memorable characters from snow queens to boarding school adventurers, this book packs a flurry of mischief and excitement.

 

 

 

The winter of the robots, by Kurtis Scaletta – “Seven feet of snow, four science-fair nerds, one creepy junkyard. Get ready for the ultimate robot battle.” (Publisher’s description)

 

 

 

 

The Blizzard on Blue Mountain, by Kristiana Gregory and Patrick Fancy (Cabin Creek Mysteries) – “In Cabin Creek, winter means sledding, ice skating, snow boarding – and a broken ski lift? A blizzard has blown into town and tourists are filling up the lodge to hit the slopes, which means there are all the more suspects in in the cousins’ latest case.” (Publisher’s description)

 

 

Moominland Midwinter, by Tove Jansson – Moomins are known for sleeping through the winter, but Moomintroll has woken up early! His curiosity is sparked and he sets out to discover what really goes on during this unusual season.