Dragons on Flags

Three countries in the world have dragons on their national flags.


Wales: The dragon has been the symbol for Wales since the 800s, but the dragon was not put on the Welsh flag until 1959. The Welsh flag features a red dragon with wings, four legs and an arrow-shaped tail. The Welsh call their flag Y Draig Goch, which means “red dragon,” and the motto of Wales is “the red dragon advances.”


Bhutan: Bhutan is a country in the Eastern Himalayan Mountains. Bhutan means “land of the dragon.” Their flag features a white, Chinese-style dragon with a pearl clutched in each paw.


Malta: The Republic of Malta is a group of Islands in the Mediterranean Sea. You have to look closely at the Maltese flag to find the dragon. In the top left-hand corner is the George Cross, a medal awarded by the King of England for bravery. In the middle of the George Cross is an image of Saint George slaying his dragon. Malta was awarded the George Cross for helping the allies in World War II.

3 Responses

  1. lyall 16 June, 2009 / 8:58 pm

    malta’s motto ( just to let you know ) is :
    take nothing but memories
    leave nothing but footprints,

    I like it.

  2. Aaditya Sanjay 16 January, 2013 / 2:05 pm

    Thank you, it is informative

  3. Micaela 17 October, 2013 / 8:19 am

    Excellent way of telling, and pleasant article to take information regarding my presentation subject, which i
    am going to present in school.

Comments are closed.