The Man Booker Prize winner for 2017 has been announced!

Syndetics book coverThe award winning short story writer George Saunders has now become an award winning novelist, with his debut novel titled Lincoln in the Bardo being awarded the 2017 Man Booker Prize. The Texan born Saunders originally trained as a geophysicist. His first of six collections of short stories was published in 1996, titled CivilWarLand in bad decline. He won the 2014 Folio Prize for the collection Tenth of December: stories.

The 2017 Man Booker Prize shortlist has been announced

The shortlist for the 2017 Man Booker Prize has recently been announced. Six novels from the long list of thirteen have been chosen by the panel of judges. Two American authors, Paul Auster and George Saunders, are included in the selection, along with two previously shortlisted authors, Pakistani Mohsin Hamid and Scottish Ali Smith. Two debut British authors complete the list. The winner of the £50,000 award will be announced on 17th October 2017 in London.

Syndetics book cover Syndetics book cover Syndetics book cover

Longlist for the 2017 Man Booker Prize announced

Syndetics book coverThe judging panel for the 2017 Man Booker Prize have chosen 13 novels from the 144 submitted for this year’ longlist. The longlist includes four American authors, Paul Auster, George Saunders, Colson Whitehead, and debut novelist Emily Fridlund. One other debut novelist is Fiona Mozley from the United Kingdom.
Four of the longlisted authors have previously been shortlisted for this prize, but have never won; they are Sebastian Barry, Mohsin Hamid, Ali Smith and Zadie Smith.
The shortlist of six novels will be announced in September, with the winner of the £50,000 announced in October.

American author wins 2016 Man Booker prize

Syndetics book coverThe 2016 Man Booker prize had been won by American author Paul Beatty with his novel titled The Sellout, a scathing satirical novel about racial politics in America. This is the first time an America has won this prestigious prize in the prize’s 48 year history.
Born in 1962, Paul Beatty lives in New York and has had two works of poetry and three other novels published, with The Sellout being awarded 2016 National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction.

Longlist for 2016 Man Booker Prize announced

Syndetics book coverThe longlist for this year’s Man Booker Prize has recently been announced. The panel of five judges that included Amanda Foreman and Abdulrazak Gurnah have selected thirteen novels, comprising of five from United States, and two from Canada. J. M Coetzee, from South Africa/Australia makes up the number with four from the United Kingdom.
The short list of six books will be announced on 13th September, with the winner announced on 25th October.

British author Anita Brookner has died

Syndetics book coverThe prolific British author Anita Brookner has died aged 87. She was a much acclaimed art historian, becoming the first female Professor of Fine Art at the University of Cambridge and began her writing career with several academic works, and retired in 1988 after being Reader at the Courtauld Institute of Art since 1977. Her first novel was published in 1981, titled, A Start in Life, and this began a prolific career as a novelist with 24 novels published, the last being titled Strangers, published in 2009. In 1984 her novel titled, Hotel du lac was awarded the Man Booker Prize; this was adapted to film in 1986.

Winner of 2015 Man Booker Prize announced

Syndetics book coverThis year’s Man Booker Prize winner is Marlon James, a 44 year old Jamaican writer, for his novel titled A Brief History of Seven Killings. He has had two previously novels published, he has a Master’s Degree in Creative Writing, and teaches English and Creative Writing where he lives in Minneapolis.
A Brief History of Seven Killings, set in Jamaica, explores the attempted assassinations of Bob Marley in the late seventies. Marlon James receives £50,000 as the 2015 Man Booker Prize winner.
This winning novel is also available to download from Wellington City Libraries eLibrary.

2015 Man Booker Prize shortlist announced

Syndetics book coverThe Shortlist for this year’s Man Booker Prize has recently been announced with six novels selected from the 13 longlisted in July. With a very international representation, there are two authors, Tom McCarthy and Sunjeev Sahota from Britain, two from America, Anne Tyler and Hanya Yanaguhara, along with Marlon James from Jamaica and Chigozie Obioma from Nigeria.
The winner of the £50,000 prize will be announced in London on the 13th October 2015.

New Zealand author on Man Booker Prize 2015 longlist

Syndetics book coverCongratulations to New Zealand author Anna Smaill for her novel titled The Chimes being selected for the 2015 Man Booker longlist.
The recently announced longlist of 13 novels also includes Anne Enright’s The Green Road, Andrew O’Hagan’s The Illuminations, and Anne Tyler’s A Spool of Blue Thread.
The panel of five judges, chaired by Michael Wood, will announce the shortlist in September 2015, with each author receiving £2,500 and the winner from this will be announced in October 2015, and receive the £50,000 award.