Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction shortlist announced

Seven novels have been shortlisted for the 2017 Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction. This annual British literary award was founded in 2010 and is open to novels first published in the UK, Ireland or Commonwealth in the preceding year. This year’s shortlist includes 2010 winner Sebastian Barry for his most recent novel, set during the American Civil War, titled Days without End.

The winner of the £25,000 award will be announced on 17th June 2017.

Syndetics book coverSyndetics book coverSyndetics book cover

Crime writer Colin Dexter has died

Syndetics book coverPopular English crime writer Colin Dexter has died at his home in Oxford aged 86. Most famously known as the creator of the Inspector Morse character that spanned 13 novels, the first, titled Last Bus to Woodstock, was published in 1973. The last novel where his character Morse died was titled The Remorseful Day and was published in 1999. All these 13 novels were adapted into a very popular television series. He also published two novellas, a short story collection, and a book on solving cryptic crosswords. He received several Crime Writers’ Association Awards and in 2000 was appointed an Officer of the Order of the British Empire for services to literature.

Sebastian Barry wins 2016 Costa Book of the Year Award

Syndetics book coverThe winner of the Costa Book of the Year Award has been awarded to Sebastian Barry for his novel titled Days Without End. The Costa prize has five categories: First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book, with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the Year and the prize of £30,000. This is the second time Sebastian Barry has received this award, the first being in 2008 for his novel titled The Secret Scripture.
Sebastian Barry was born in Ireland in 1955. His first novel was published in 1982; this was followed by eight other novels, two volumes of poetry and fourteen plays.

Irish author William Trevor dies

Syndetics book coverWilliam Trevor, the Irish author has died at 88 years. A prolific fiction writer, he was born in Ireland, and lived the later part of his life in England. His first novel was published in 1958, with 18 titles following. He also published 18 short story collections, 6 plays and 3 works of non-fiction. He won the Hawthornden Prize for literature in 1964 for his novel titled The Old Boys. He won the Whitbread Prize three times, and was nominated for the Booker Prize five times. He won the American short story O. Henry Award four times. His last published novel, titled Love and Summer was published in 2009.

Highly Acclaimed New Zealand writer James McNeish has died

Syndetics book coverIt is with great sadness the death of James McNeish was announced. He was one of New Zealand’s most prolific writers of fiction, non-fiction, plays, essays, articles and reviews. His first novel, titled Mackenzie was published in 1970 and his eighth, titled The Crime of Huey Dunstan was published on 2010. In 2010 he was awarded the Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit.

Come and Write-In! It’s NaNoWriMo 2016

Nanowrimo 2016 bannerNovember is now well established as Nanowrimo, the National Novel Writing Month  at Wellington Libraries.

Due to popular and renewed demand from a creative and diverse community of budding and seasoned writers who are preparing for another 50,000 word novel challenge this November we are making space available again this year to foster the creative process and much needed peer support.
Those who took part the previous years, will find their familiar spaces on the ground floor and first floor of the Central Library.

For those new to this creative challenge, join a dedicated and welcoming group who will support you on the way to that 50,000 word goal!

And when you publish that book, be sure to tell us it was born here!

Saturdays 5-26 Nov, 1-4pm in the HQCBD rooms on the ground floor (under the escalators).

Note: On Saturday 26 November, extra space will be available in the Mezzanine room (Clarke’s café’s level)

Sundays 6-27 Nov, 1-4pm on the north west end of the first floor (click on map below)1ST FLOOR MAPa



American author wins 2016 Man Booker prize

Syndetics book coverThe 2016 Man Booker prize had been won by American author Paul Beatty with his novel titled The Sellout, a scathing satirical novel about racial politics in America. This is the first time an America has won this prestigious prize in the prize’s 48 year history.
Born in 1962, Paul Beatty lives in New York and has had two works of poetry and three other novels published, with The Sellout being awarded 2016 National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction.

Longlist for 2016 Man Booker Prize announced

Syndetics book coverThe longlist for this year’s Man Booker Prize has recently been announced. The panel of five judges that included Amanda Foreman and Abdulrazak Gurnah have selected thirteen novels, comprising of five from United States, and two from Canada. J. M Coetzee, from South Africa/Australia makes up the number with four from the United Kingdom.
The short list of six books will be announced on 13th September, with the winner announced on 25th October.

Winner of the 2016 Dublin Literary Award announced

Syndetics book coverThis year’s Dublin Literary Award with the prize of €100,000 has been presented to Akhil Sharma for his second novel titled Family Life. This moving novel, tells the story of an Indian family who move from Delhi to New York and was thirteen years in writing. Akhil Sharma is a native of Delhi, but now lives in New York and is assistant professor of English at Rutgers University. His first novel published in 2000, titled, An Obedient Father won the PEN/Hemingway Award.