Ngaio Marsh Award winners announced for 2017

Syndetics book coverRecently the 2017 Ngaio Marsh Award winners were announced. The Best Crime Novel was awarded to Fiona Sussman for her novel titled The Last Time We Spoke.
The Best First Novel prize was awarded to Finn Bell, for his novel titled Dead Lemons.
The Ngaio Marsh Awards originated in 2010 for excellence in New Zealand crime, mystery, and thriller writing. In 2016 the award for best First Novel was added and in 2017 another category was also added for the Best Non Fiction.

Congratulations to Wellington author Catherine Robertson

Syndetics book coverWe send our congratulations to Wellington author Catherine Robertson on winning the Fiction Award for her novel titled The Hiding Places, at the Arts Festival Library Carnival in Nelson.
This is her fourth novel, the first The Sweet Second Life of Darrell Kincaid, was published in 2011.  Although extremely busy with her writing and also her Masters in Creative Writing study at Victoria University, Catherine has always been very generous with her time at Wellington City Libraries’ events. We wish her well for a very promising future.

Ngaio Marsh Award for best crime novel announced

Syndetics book coverPaul Cleave has won this year’s Ngaio Marsh Award for his crime novel titled Five Minutes Alone.
This is his eighth crime novel, the first was published in 2006 and was titled The Cleaner. This is the second time he has won this award, winning previously in 2011, with his novel titled Blood Men published in 2010.
His novels have been translated into fifteen languages, and many have been shortlist for international crime writing awards.

2015 Ngaio Marsh Award

Syndetics book coverThe Ngaio Marsh Award made annually for the best crime, thriller or mystery written by a New Zealand citizen or resident, began in 2010. It show cases some of the best writing in this genre, and this year’s short-list is no exception. Featuring five of the country’s best known writers, the decision of the judging panel will be difficult.
The shortlist is:
Paul Cleave for Five minutes alone
Barbara Ewing for The Petticoat men
Paddy Richardson for Swimming in the dark
Tina Shaw for The Children’s pond
Paul Thomas for Fallout
The winner will be announced on 4th October in Christchurch.

Winner of the 2015 IMPAC Dublin Literary Award announced

Syndetics book coverThe British writer Jim Crace has been awarded this year’s IMPAC Dublin Literary Award of €100,000 for his novel titled, Harvest. Set in a small English village before the industrial revolution, this novel was also short-listed for the Man Booker prize in 2013.
Jim Crace is the author of 10 other novels, and two collections of short stories, the first titled Continent began his published career in 1986. His work has received numerous literary awards.

Post-apocalypse novel wins Arthur C Clarke Award

Syndetics book coverThe Canadian writer Emily St John Mandel has won the 2015 Arthur C. Clarke Award for her much acclaimed fourth novel titled Station Eleven. Set in the Year Twenty it follows a troupe of actors and musicians as they cross a devastated America bringing entertainment to the isolated survivors.
Previous winners of the prestigious science fiction award have been Margaret Atwood, China Mieville and Neal Stephenson.

2015 IMPAC Dublin Literary Award shortlist announced

Syndetics book coverSyndetics book coverTen novels have been selected from nominations to make up the shortlist for this year’s IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. One of the literary world’s largest annual awards, all nominations are made by 150 libraries from 39 countries.
This year’s shortlist has a true international flavour, with novels from Russian, Moroccan, Nigerian, Brazilian, and Irish authors. Also along with American and British authors there are two Australian authors listed. The winner will be announced on the 17th June 2015 in Dublin.

2014 Man Booker Prize won by Richard Flanagan

Syndetics book coverAustralian writer Richard Flanagan has been awarded this year’s prestigious literary prize, The Man Booker, for his novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North. This is his sixth novel and is based on his father’s war time experiences as a Japanese prisoner of war working on the notorious Burma Railway.
Richard Flanagan was born in 1961 Tasmania, where he still resides. He was presented with the £50,000 at a ceremony in London, for the 46th year of the prize and notably the most contentious, as this was the first year to allow entry of any novel published in English.

Winner of the 2014 Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Crime Fiction announced

Syndetics book coverLiam McIlvanney has won the Ngaio Marsh award for his novel titled Where the Dead Men Go. This is his second published novel, following All the Colours of the Town, published in 2009.  Professor McIlvanney holds the Stuart Chair in Scottish Studies, and is the Director of Otago University’s Scottish Programme.
The book’s summary reads: “After three years in the wilderness, hardboiled reporter Gerry Conway is back at his desk at the Glasgow Tribune. But three years is a long time on newspapers and things have changed – readers are dwindling, budgets are tightening, and the Trib’s once rigorous standards are slipping. Once the paper’s star reporter, Conway now plays second fiddle to his former protégé, crime reporter Martin Moir. But when Moir goes AWOL as a big story breaks, Conway is dispatched to cover a gangland shooting. And when Moir’s body turns up in a flooded quarry, Conway is drawn deeper into the city’s criminal underworld as he looks for the truth about his colleague’s death. Braving the hostility of gangsters, ambitious politicians and his own newspaper bosses, Conway discovers he still has what it takes to break a big story. But this is a story not everyone wants to hear as the city prepares to host the Commonwealth Games and the country gears up for a make-or-break referendum on independence. In this, the second book in the Conway Trilogy, McIlvanney explores the murky interface of crime and politics in the new Scotland.” (Syndetics summary)