Human emotions – December Self-help picks

Find your authentic voice and make others hear you with the help of this month’s titles. You will also learn to live more “gamefully” and with gratitude, for a new, lighter outlook on life.

Syndetics book cover Light is the new black : a guide to answering your soul’s calling and working your light
Light Is The New Black is a guidebook for a new breed of women who are here to be bright lights in the world. At the Peace Conference in Canada in 2009, when the Dalai Lama said ‘The world will be saved by the western woman’, it was a call to action for women throughout the West. Light Is The New Black is a response to that call. It guides these women to come back home to who they really are, at soul level, and embrace their uniqueness so they can light up the world in a way that only they can. Gone are the days of following someone else’s well-trodden path.” (Adapted from Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverLouder than words : harness the power of your authentic voice
“There has never been a better time to build an audience around your idea or product. But with so many people and companies clamouring for attention, it’s also more challenging than ever to do work that deeply resonates with the marketplace and creates true and lasting impact. Those who identify and develop their voices will gain more attention and wield more influence. Henry offers strategies, exercises, and true stories that illustrate the five attributes of resonant work:  Authenticity, Uniqueness, Consonance, Empathy, Timing. Henry’s book will help readers build a body of work that resonates deeply and achieves lasting impact.” (Adapted from Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverIntentional living : choosing a life that matters
“We all have a longing to be significant. We want to make a contribution, to be a part of something noble and purposeful. But many people wrongly believe significance is unattainable. The only thing you need to achieve significance is to be intentional. And to do that, all you need to do is start. You can’t make an impact sitting still and doing nothing. Every major accomplishment that’s ever been achieved started with a first step. This book will help you take that first step, and the ones that follow, on your personal path through a life that matters.” (Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverSuperBetter : a revolutionary approach to getting stronger, happier, braver, and more resilient 
“In this book, McGonigal reveals a decade’s worth of scientific research into the ways all games including videogames, sports, and puzzles change how we respond to stress, challenge, and pain. Being gameful means bringing the same psychological strengths we naturally display when we play games such as optimism, creativity, courage, and determination to real-world goals. McGonigal shows that getting superbetter is as simple as tapping into the three core psychological strengths that games help you build. SuperBetter contains nearly 100 playful challenges anyone can undertake in order to build these gameful strengths.” (Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverThe gratitude diaries : how a year looking on the bright side transformed my life
The Gratitude Diaries follows journalist and former Parade editor in chief Janice Kaplan as she learns to gain a positive perspective and improve her life by becoming more grateful every day. In her fresh and witty journey, Kaplan discovers that gratitude isn’t the same as happiness (which can be fragile and fleeting) but has deeper emotional roots, is longer-lasting, and is impervious to change or challenges. She interviews dozens of experts and gathers extensive data from the national gratitude survey she conducted, to offer surprising findings about why gratitude changes your outlook in any situation.” (Adapted from Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverMindware : tools for smart thinking
“Many scientific and philosophical ideas are so powerful that they can be applied to our lives to help us think smarter and more effectively about our behaviour and the world around us. Surprisingly, many of these ideas remain unknown to most of us. Drawing on his own groundbreaking research, Richard Nisbett presents these ideas in clear and accessible detail to offer a tool kit for better thinking and wiser decisions.” (Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverWinners : and how they succeed
“How do sportsmen excel, entrepreneurs thrive, or individuals achieve their ambitions? Is their ability to win innate? Or is the winning mindset something we can all develop? In the tradition of The Talent Code and The Power of Habit, Campbell examines how winners tick. He considers how they build great teams. He analyzes how these people deal with unexpected setbacks and new challenges and sets out a blueprint for winning that we can all follow to achieve our goals.” (Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverIntelligence in the flesh : why your mind needs your body much more than it thinks
“If you think that intelligence emanates from the mind and that reasoning necessitates the suppression of emotion, you’d better think again–or rather not “think” at all. Guy Claxton draws on the latest findings in neuroscience and psychology to reveal how our bodies actually constitute the core of our intelligent life. From the endocrinal means by which our organs communicate to the instantaneous decision-making prompted by external phenomena, our bodies are able to perform intelligent computations that we either overlook or wrongly attribute to our brains. Claxton shows how an appreciation of the body’s intelligence will enrich all our lives.” (Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverThe book of human emotions : an encyclopedia of feeling from anger to wanderlust
“Recent research suggests there are only six basic emotions. From anger to wanderlust, each entertaining and informative alphabetical entry reveals the surprising connections and fascinating facts behind our emotional lives. Whether you’re in search of the perfect word to sum up that cosy feeling you get from being inside on a cold winter’s night, surrounded by friends and good food (what the Dutch call gezellig), or wondering how nostalgia evolved from a fatal illness to enjoyable self-indulgence, Tiffany Watt Smith covers the globe and draws on history, anthropology, science, art, literature, music and popular culture to find the answers.” (Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverFail, fail again, fail better
“When her granddaughter was accepted to Naropa University, the celebrated author Pema Chödrön promised that she’d speak at the commencement ceremony. Fail, Fail Again, Fail Better contains the wisdom shared on that day. “What do we do when life doesn’t go the way we hoped?” begins Pema “We say, ‘I’m a failure.” But what if failing wasn’t just “okay,” but the most direct way to becoming a more complete, loving, and fulfilled human being? Here, Pema Chödrön offers us her heartfelt advice on how to face the unknown – in ourselves and in the world – and how our missteps can open our eyes to see new possibilities and purpose.” (Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverBrave enough
“Around the world, thousands of people have found inspiration in the words of Cheryl Strayed, who in her three prior books (including the best-selling Wild) and in her “Dear Sugar” columns has shared the twists and trials of her remarkable life. This book gathers more than 100 of Strayed’s indelible quotes and thoughts–“mini instruction manuals for the soul” that urge us toward the incredible capacity for love, compassion, forgiveness, and endurance that is within us all.” (Adapted from Syndetics summary)