These new picture books will entertain every transport loving child

Buses, diggers, boats, trucks and bikes. Take a ride with your child and these fantastic books.

Syndetics book coverYou can’t take an elephant on the bus / Patricia Cleveland-Peck ; illustrated by David Tazzyman.
“You can’t take an elephant on the bus … It would simply cause a terrible fuss! Elephants’ bottoms are heavy and fat and would certainly squash the seats quite flat. Never put a camel in a sailing boat, or a tiger on a train, and don’t even THINK about asking a whale to ride a bike… This riotous picture book is filled with animals causing total disaster as they try to travel in the most unsuitable vehicles. A real romp of a book, with hilarious rhyming text and spectacular illustrations.” (Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverFollow that car / Lucy Feather ; [illustrations by] Stephen Lomp.
“Packed with comic capers and animal antics, this brilliantly bold book follows Mouse’s madcap race after Gorilla through a variety of exciting settings.” (Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverA river / by Marc Martin.
“There is a river outside my window.Where will it take me? So begins an imaginary journey from the city to the sea. From factories to farmlands, freeways to forest, each new landscape is explored through stunning illustrations and poetic text from this award-winning picture-book creator.” (Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverDigger dog / illustrated by Cecilia Johansson ; written by William Bee.
“Digger Dog loves to dig – with diggers! The bigger the machine, the better. But what will he need to dig up the biggest bone in the whole world? When Digger Dog smells something big under the earth, he’s determined to dig it up, and fetches a series of bigger and bigger machines to help him. This brilliant read-aloud romp has two fantastic, fold-out surprises at the end. The perfect story for digger-mad little ones.” (Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverMonster trucks. Mega city cup / Jon Hinton ; illustrated by Tado.
“These are no ordinary monsters… These monsters have wheels… These are MONSTER TRUCKS! Today’s the day of the long-awaited City Trophy. Bolt, Newton, Roxy, Chunk, Fizz and Masher speed through Slick City, but there’s trouble ahead when Masher the cheeky monster swaps the street signs around in an attempt to win… Perfect for fans of Moshi Monsters and Disney’s Cars, this exciting new picture book series is ready to race your way! Features bright, bold, eye-catching illustrations by the the well known artist duo TADO whose work has featured on everything from designer toys and fashion to advertising campaigns.” (Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverThe Usborne big book of big trucks / written by Megan Cullis ; illustrated by Mike Byrne.
“Open out the giant fold-out pages to find out about some of the world’s biggest, strongest and tallest trucks. Huge, impressive colour illustrations. Fascinating facts about all kinds of trucks, from enormous heavy hauler dump trucks to towering mobile crane trucks.” (Syndetics summary)

Syndetics book coverRide, Riccardo, ride! / written by Phil Cummings ; illustrated by Shane Devries.
“Ricardo loved to ride his bike through the village. He rode under endless skies, quiet and clear. He rode every day…But then the shadows came.”–Back cover.