News Blog > After Twilight : What to read next?

After Twilight : What to read next?

Breaking Dawn, Part One has been out at the movies for a while now, so we thought it might be time to round up a few options for books you might enjoy if you enjoyed the Twilight series. Some of the books we’ve chosen are the first in a series (we always love discovering new series!), and some are standalones – but all feature the paranormal, and all involve a spectacularly supernaturally challenged relationship. If Twilight was your first foray into genre fiction (and even if it wasn’t), we think you’ll enjoy these titles.

Syndetics book coverSunshine / Robin McKinley.
“There are places in the world where darkness rules, where it’s unwise to walk. Sunshine knew that. But there hadn’t been any trouble out at the lake for years, and she needed a place to be alone for a while. Unfortunately, she wasn’t alone. She never heard them coming. Of course you don’t, when they’re vampires. They took her clothes and sneakers. They dressed her in a long red gown. And they shackled her to the wall of an abandoned mansion – within easy reach of a figure stirring in the moonlight. She knows that he is a vampire. She knows that she’s to be his dinner and that when he is finished with her, she will be dead. Yet, as dawn breaks, she finds that he has not attempted to harm her. And now it is he who needs her to help him survive the day.” (Amazon.com)

We say: Sadly this is not one of those beginning titles in a series, although we wish it were (and we’re pretty sure you will too). Robin McKinley is known for her amazing retellings of fairytales, and this subject matter is a bit of a departure for her. You can read an excerpt, and praise from author Neil Gaiman, on McKinley’s website.

Syndetics book coverA discovery of witches / Deborah Harkness.
“It begins with absence and desire. It begins with blood and fear. It begins with a discovery of witches. When historian Diana Bishop opens an alchemical manuscript in the Bodleian Library, it’s an unwelcome intrusion of magic into her carefully ordered life. Though Diana is a witch of impeccable lineage, the violent death of her parents while she was still a child convinced her that human fear is more potent than any witchcraft. Now Diana has unwittingly exposed herself to a world she’s kept at bay for years; one of powerful witches, creative, destructive daemons and long-lived vampires. Sensing the significance of Diana’s discovery, the creatures gather in Oxford, among them the enigmatic Matthew Clairmont, a vampire geneticist. Diana is inexplicably drawn to Matthew and, in a shadowy world of half-truths and old enmities, ties herself to him without fully understanding the ancient line they are crossing. As they begin to unlock the secrets of the manuscript and their feelings for each other deepen, so the fragile balance of peace unravels…” (Global Books)

We say: a New York Times Bestseller, and deservedly so. The first in a series, although we have to wait till next year for the next title. It looks like it’s going to be a trilogy – read more on the author’s website.

Syndetics book coverInsatiable / Meg Cabot.
“Sick of hearing about vampires? So is Meena Harper. Meena Harper is familiar with the supernatural. After all, she knows how you’re going to die (Not that you’re going to believe her. No one ever does.) But not even Meena’s precognition can prepare her for Lucien Antonescu—who she meets and then makes the mistake of falling in love with—a modern-day prince with a bit of a dark side for which an ancient society of vampire hunters would prefer to see him dead. The problem is Lucien’s already dead. Maybe that’s why he’s the first guy Meena’s ever met with whom she could imagine herself having a future. See, while Meena’s always been able to see everyone else’s destiny, she’s never been able look into her own. Lucien seems to be everything Meena has ever dreamed of in a boyfriend, though he might turn out to be more of a nightmare. So now would be a good time for Meena to start learning to predict her own future… if she has one.” (Amazon.com)

We say: We’re pretty sure you’re not sick of hearing about vampires like Meena is, but we do think you’ll enjoy this latest adult fiction title from Meg Cabot, author of the Queen of Babble series and Heather Wells mysteries (as well as many teen fiction titles). One thing to be aware of: this is funnier, and more of a chicklit title than our other choices, but it definitely fills all our requirements for a supernatural romance, and it’s the first in a series. You can read excerpted chapters on Meg Cabot’s website. A modern retelling of Bram Stoker’s Dracula. There’s even a book trailer:

(Yes, we know it’s cheesy at the start, just keep watching – it gets funny!)

 

Syndetics book coverBeautiful creatures / by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl.
“Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever. Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them. In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.” (Global Books)

We say: This is another Crossover Fiction title, like Twilight. Beautifully written, and sort of Southern Gothic. I, for one, couldn’t put this down.

These are just a few titles to get you started – there is much, much more paranormal romance available on our catalogue, but you might have to browse a bit to find something exactly to your tastes. A lot of it is Crossover Fiction too – so have a browse of the Teen shelves and see if anything catches your eye. Enjoy!

Sorry comments are closed for this entry


  • Archives

  • Categories